You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tropic Thunder (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

I normally consider comedy movies to be a boring waste of time. but Tropic Thunder (2008) was a damn good movie. Only few of the Zucker, Abrahams and Zucker movies comes to this level of quality and only Airplane! (1980) definitively surpass this. The Naked Gun movies were pretty great too.

But the best comedy ever made IMHO is https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PK_(film) You might loose some of the context due to cultural differences if you are not familiar with mainly Hinduism and Indian Gurus. It's got both intellectual depth and some of the best comedy scenes and heart touching moments.

Sherlock Series was super funny too. It's a special brand of smart British humor which happens to be my favorite type. These aren't even the funny parts:

Sort:  

Yes, Tropic Thunder was pretty good, I think it was you who recommended it to me, Airplane! It is also good. I have not seen The Naked Gun and PK either, but I'll consider those too. Sherlock looks great, I'm sure I have it written down in my series list, when some of the ones that I see today finish I probably start with Sherlock.

Thanks and regards!

The best way to look at Sherlock is one series at a time (3 episodes each 90 minutes) It's the best TV Series I've ever watched. It's even better than Black Mirror. S2E3 was the best detective episode. S4E3 was basically a character deconstruction involving multiple high functioning sociopaths ad some major plot twists and very little detective work involved (which make most people hate the episode) There is also a special episode which IMO was the craziest and most daring with so many subtle hints thrown around about what is going on. Those were my favorite parts.

I'm sure I'll try to give it a chance.

Exactly.gif

PK is damn funny and so is Piku, I also love British humour even though at times I'm just shaking my head instead of belly laughing.

Tropic thunder is hilarious though IMHO..

Posted using Partiko Android

PK (film)
PK (transl. Tipsy; Hindi pronunciation: [piakar]) is a 2014 Indian satirical comedy-drama film directed by Rajkumar Hirani and written by Hirani and Abhijat Joshi. It was jointly produced by Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra under the banners Rajkumar Hirani Films and Vinod Chopra Films respectively. The film follows an alien who comes to Earth on a research mission, but loses his remote to a thief, who later sells it to a godman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67776.21
ETH 3737.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72