8 Reasons Batman May Be Jealous of Superman After All

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Last night was quite of sacred for me. Girlfriendless (Hell Yeah...Just came up with another new word) for the past several months, as geeky as ever before and with a lot of free time in my hands for a Sunday evening (AEK wasn't playing yesterday since the Greek Superleague is going through scandalous times at the moment and for the past 25 years), I felt desperate and lonely enough to finally watch Justice League.

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everything was set: Blu-ray was inserted smoothly in my PS4 for superior display resolution, the room's ideally dark just like in a cinema, absolute silence so I can enjoy my Dolby Surround 7.1, no women anywhere around to make annoying questions during the film and so on and so forth. 

Not that I have anything against women; please don't take it the wrong way! I LOVE WOMEN! However, I consider them HORRIBLE company to watch a sci-fi film with. As horrible company I was to my then-girlfriend, who insisted to watch The Notebook together! I am sure she STILL regrets about it!!!

Anyway, back in 2016 I was working for Provocateur, one of the most popular entertainment websites in Greece. So, I ended up with two VIP invitations to attend Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice official premiere in Athens. 

On my left was sitting my ex-girlfriend, S.G., and on my right a famous Greek singer named Katerina Stikoudi. Other than meeting in person Katerina (who's a REALLY, REALLY COOL GIRL) and adding in my memorabilia collection this AWESOME VIP invitation...

...the rest of the "experience" was a true nightmare. NEVER EVER AGAIN! I won't get into details because I am classy enough not to touch personal matters (touché), but for God's Sake, why women are even allowed to enter movie theaters that play sci-fi films? LOL

To make a long story short, I re-watched the film ALONE a couple of days later and one of the things I noticed (like I didn't already know) is how JEALOUS Batman is of Superman. I mean....It's painfully obvious. I even wrote an article about it for provocateur, but if you can't read in Greek, I am afraid that you won't understand shite!

Don't worry though; after watching Justice League last night, I came up with even more "bright" ideas to justify my belief and this time I will write them down in English!

So, if you're a Batman fan, you may skip this article of you may end up being suicidal :P

SUPERMAN IS HANDSOME (BATMAN, NOT SO MUCH) 

Let’s face it: Superman makes something as silly as wearing red underwear over blue tights sexy while Batman is dressed like a dark, ugly bat. Superman shows his handsome face to all, while Batman hides behind a mask that makes him look like a weirdo. 

Superman is the better looking one and the ladies get turned on by it, while the Dark Knight has way more success as billionaire Bruce Wayne.  

SUPERMAN IS ACCOUNTABLE TO NO ONE  

Batman is more like Gotham’s secret agent and works with the city’s police chief quite often whereas Superman is just a really nice guy who loves humanity way too much to hurt it. I know it might sound frightening to some people but the only person keeping Superman from declaring himself Earth’s Supreme Leader is . . . well, NOT HIM FOR SURE.  

SUPERMAN DOESN’T HAVE TO WORK HARD TO KICK ASS 

Superman doesn’t have to learn martial arts, stay fit, build muscles in a secret gym, or find the most effective weapons on the market since he doesn’t need these things. The Man of Steel is the definition of the term “natural.” 

We wish we could say the same for Batman. Superman gets all his abilities from the rays of our sun. He never actually had to do anything to be Superman, he just is Superman. 

SUPERMAN TRUSTS EVERYONE AND FEARS NOTHING 

Batman’s inability to trust anyone other than Alfred shows us how weak and vulnerable he really is. The fact that Superman is fearless, always acts in good faith, and trusts everyone—well, until he finds out they’re evil and then mops the floor with their sorry asses—makes Batman look like the insecure boy in school who couldn’t make any friends simply because deep inside he lacked self-confidence. 

SUPERMAN HAS SUPERPOWERS, BATMAN HAS A BUNCH OF GADJETS  

Batman has a major inferiority complex and his cool gadgets prove it. He knows he’s only human and we totally admire him for his courage to become a superhero even though he’s just one of us, but at the same time he can’t run as fast as Flash, he can’t fly like Superman, he’s not self-healing like Wolverine, and so on. He’s simply way too human! 

SUPERMAN SAVES THE WORLD, BATMAN JUST SAVES GOTHAM CITY  

Think about it this way: there are two guys, one of them is the world boxing champion and the other won the Golden Gloves in his city. Which do you think will be jealous of the other? 

SUPERMAN IS VIEWED AS A GOD AND BATMAN IS AN ATHEIST  

If you think about it, we don’t really know what religion Bruce Wayne subscribes to (he never mentions it), but he seems a little too pragmatic and into money to have faith in a deity. 

It makes sense that he would be suspicious of the cult-like atmosphere that seems to have risen up around Superman in the Batman v Superman trailer (look at the GIF above). 

SUPERMAN WOULD ALWAYS BEAT HIM IN THE REAL WORLD, OK?

If the creators of the comics or the movies were as realistic as I’m going to be here, then we would never get a chance to enjoy an issue or film where the two superheroes confront each other. However, let’s be honest for a moment: if this fight actually took place in the real world, you know what you’d never get a chance to see? Batman losing his head. 

And that’s because Superman would move faster than a speeding bullet and knock his head right off, too fast for the human eye to see.    

Sources:

tcmag.com 

theo-cracy.com 

Images / Gif : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Sort:  

All of the things you point out as being beneficial and superior for Superman, and all the things that you point out are lesser and inferior for Batman actually show why Batman should be respected more and why Superman would actually be jealous of Batman. Or they both would be jealous of the other (if Superman experienced human-like tendencies or if his human parents had any influence on him when raising him to induce some type of human emotion).

Since Superman did not develop any of his skills on his own he had no conscious choice to be what he is, while Batman has the free will to be or not to be a superhero. That is way more powerful, conceptually. People are more likely to associate with that than a god-like hero. Albeit they may respect Superman out of fear.

Weaknesses. Batman’s only weakness is his most powerful asset. His brain. Since Batman and Superman cannot be compared on the same level, one is mortal the other is not. Batman’s mortality is a benefit becaue he is consciously trying to remain alive. While Superman has two weaknesses, his mind and his god-like abilities. He does not consider death an option. And yet he is mortal-ish. His mind assumes he is immortal, (except for his Achilles heal, cryptonite). Thus his mind, based on his seeming invincibility, prevents him from having a death reflex, which creates a weakness in the way he approaches scenarios. He’s Thor and Hercules, compared to Batman being Zeus and Odín (an extremely hyperbolic metaphoric being used here).

This leads to the argument for why Batman has a chance against Superman. If we assume that the fight is premeditated. If Superman and Batman were simply to cross paths at a bar, there is no question that Bruce Wayne stands no chance against Clark Kent. But if you allow Batman to prepare, assuming he has done his Batman like research on his opponent, he will have perhaps even an advantage against his lesser minded opponent...

That’s it enjoy. And if you want me to counter argue I can as well!

I up-vote for the effort and the HONEST comment you give! However, I feel like you miss the whole point and you overlook the spirit of this post (which also includes comedic elements).

If you watched Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice or even better if you've read (I am a HUGE comic fan) Lex Luthor: Man of Steel (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/401200.Lex_Luthor) then you should DEFINITELY KNOW that Batman (Lex Luthor as well), is clearly being jealous, envious, xenophobic and even racist towards an "alien" who only wants to save human civilians and protect this world. Batman is the typical weak-minded human being who is absolutely terrified, scared and envious of something that is NATURALLY SUPERIOR to him. Just like Lex Luthor. Read the comic and you will even see him admitting it. Watch Justice League and you will see Batman being apologetic to Superman for his envy and jealousy pretty much (he brought him back in life from dead because he felt guilty).

Batman, for all his intelligence and wealth, falls in the trap that SO MANY human beings fall on a daily basis: he's being JEALOUS of someone that in a perfect world he should ADMIRE AND LOOK UP TO. He feels threatened by someone who has never taken a human life (Batman has done it in MANY CASES https://screenrant.com/times-batman-has-killed-people/).

What many fail to understand is that Superman is Jesus in disguise. You say he doesn't consider death an option (have you heard of a thing called kryptonite? It CAN VERY EFFICIENTLY KILL Superman you know...) yet HE GAVE his own life WILLINGLY to save the world in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, while Batman was just chilling and starring from distance.

And he didn't give his own life because someone killed his parents or because destroyed his skyscraper in Gotham City and was seeking revenge, but because he's PURE in heart and his love for humanity is GOD-LIKE! (according to Christian faith).

We can agree to disagree for the rest of our lives but I don't agree with a word you said, even though I respect your views (Voltaire). Batman is just a human...Superman, on the other hand, is TOO HUMAN for his own good. If he was like Batman in mentality, he would have killed the bat-man within a second and that's their MAIN DIFFERENCE ;)

I was simply providing a counter argument. In order to better understand what one is trying to convey or argue, they must better understand what the counter argument is as well.

Thus my intent was to also get you to respond to provide more clarity on your post. Which you did, and which has caused me to admit that I do actually agree with you. My response is also for all of the [basic] humans out there. Since that is what we all are most likely are.

And if I’m going to disagree with you at all. It’s in two places. First I don’t know what it would be like to live in Superman’s mind (aka I didn’t read the comics and can’t assume to know what a demigods mind is like) and second I don’t know if comparing Superman to Jesus actually makes me compelled to like him any more. Unless it is simply the “Jesus-like act” of self sacrifice that we are comparing - then maybe.

:)

Even if Jesus was just a man and has nothing to do with what Christian Faith has taught us, he was a man who spoke about love, justice, forgiveness, altruism, generosity, unselfishness etc. To this day I fail to understand how some people (I am not referring to you with this one, just to make that clear, but to some atheist and heavily politicized friends of mine) are against a man who was all Karl Marx wish he was if you know what I mean.

To begin with, Jesus didn't give a flying fock about money....That alone made him superior in MANY WAYS to like 100% of people (including myself) I've met in this lifetime LOL

That’s why I said it the way I said it. [If] Jesus was simply a pawn used by someone to control the masses that couldn’t accept Judaism. That doesn’t mean that there is nothing to learn from “his” beliefs and teachings. Everyone is their own god, and they should do their best to be accountable for that and emulate that idea for which they believe in, assuming it’s altruistic and positive.

There is no comparison, for me at least; I have always been a SUPERMAN FAN!!!

Perfect song and perfect choice (being a fan of Superman)

Superman isn't brave, men are brave! Awesome post and you do make a lot of good points. But I will never turn my back on Batman he will always be my favourite comic book character of all time

Batman also has superior interlect which has saved clark many times. The two together have been the driving force bethind the Justie league and i dont think either of them could manage the JL on their own, its a respoinsbilty that has to be shared

Superman isn't brave, men are brave.... I stopped reading right there (and I mean it). Next you'll tell me that we are the only species in the vast universe. That's called human arrogance my friend :)

I quoted that from BVS.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #10! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99