Locke (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

For a couple of years I've been hearing about Locke, and it's not because they recommended it to me too many times, or anything like that, but I did hear at least a couple of times that it was an original and different movie, with a brilliant interpretation by Tom Hardy, so today I finally decided to give it a try, and I liked it.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2013
Category: Drama.
Director: Steven Knight.
Cast: Tom Hardy, Olivia Colman, Ruth Wilson, Andrew Scott, Ben Daniels, Tom Holland, Bill Milner.


Plot

Tom Hardy is Ivan Locke, a man who with effort and work built a good life. He is a good husband, an excellent father, a great worker, and is known for his honesty and professionalism, but one night all of that is put in danger when he decides to do what is right.


Opinion

This is one of those movies in which if you read the reviews and recommendations before you can see it, you will see that there is no consensus, some will tell you that it is one of the best movies they have seen in years, and others will say that it was a trash. In such a way that you will only know the truth once you see it. Personally I am satisfied with the film, although I know that it is not the type of film that everyone likes.

I must leave something clear, the person who recommended the film told me that most of the plot takes place in a car, not that the whole movie takes place there, which is what happened. Still I liked it, although not knowing if at some point the plot would go somewhere else that was not the car, and that allowed me to speculate a bit with the end, so I could not predict it at all, however, during the film the viewer can easily predict that the film will unfold completely on a single stage.

About the performances, well, really there is only one, I have no idea because the cast is so wide, unless reading dialogues and recording them is counted as acting. Tom Hardy does an excellent job, the whole film falls on his shoulders, like his character, he has a great weight to take on. Without the fabulous performance of Hardy this movie would be probably very bad, since it was necessary an actor with whom the viewer could empathize, and Tom Hardy does his job so well that he allows the viewer to immerse himself in the story.

Just before watching the movie, a couple of hours before, I was talking to a friend about the fact that I got the documentary Hitler's Hollywood, which is intended to show how during the Nazi regime, in Germany, Joseph Goebbels directed the cinema and subordinated it to the service of the political interests of the Third Reich. Then, during the conversation with my friend, I asked myself, what should be the purpose of a movie?

I came to the conclusion that a film should have two main objectives, to entertain and generate reflection in the viewer. But it should not be a vague reflection, but the whole work should invite reflection, I told my friend that if the characters were bad people, the final reflection would not make sense, the writers usually corrupt the characters to make them "more interesting", that is, they make them be alcoholics, or addicted to drugs or anything else, and then they make the character walk a path in which they show that despite their faults they are a good person, and that they can do acts nobles, however, I think that the reflection should be generated from the character's personality, and that it could create complexity and deep characters without corrupting his personality.

So I told my friend that a good movie did not need special effects, not a big budget, just needed to have a good script, one that is thoughtful, well interpreted characters, and a good address. And friends, that's what I got when I saw Locke two hours later.

Personally I liked the movie, mainly because it meets these requirements, has an original and thoughtful script, has a good performance, and is well directed.

The film shows us how a man's life collapses because he made only one mistake in his life, but he does not collapse because he made that mistake, he collapses because he decides to take responsibility for his actions, and decides to face the consequences of his actions. The subject is an idealist, duty is his motivator, he is the antithesis of the other characters we usually see in the movies. He does not get what he wants, he does not deceive others to achieve his goals, he does not act for his own benefit, he is the opposite, he is responsible for his actions. All this is a reflection that I consider necessary, especially for current generations, who have lost all sense of responsibility and duty. That's why I recommend it.


Trailer


Score

8/10

The score is a bit arbitrary, maybe I should put a 7, but I already made the decision to leave the 8, so I'll leave it, after all I'm not sure if nobody is going to read this anyway, so at least I'm going to please myself. I recommend it.


Image.png

Sort:  

I read it.
It's a fine form to describe this movie. I like that you see value in the way not only entertainment is delivered but something to reflect upon. Movies often make me cry or silent or touched in different ways. It's just so that they are highly addictive and that always ending a film (or a book) is like losing a good friend. I always found that weird. We humans are indeed some extraordinary empathic creatures. Just wished that some of what we see in VR would take more place in the RL.
Greetings,
Erika

Fantastic! It must be one of the 3 or 4 reviews that someone has read.

happy.jpg

Yes, I would also like to see more positive actions in real life, but for some reason people seem to take the negative. Many films present the negative as positive. That's why I like this movie, because it's honest.

I can’t describe why exactly but this is one of my favourite movie. Plot is so simple, well wrote scenario telling the story about mistake and consequences, mature decision. Really well play by Tom Hardy.

Yes, I think the story has something that does not convey indifference to anyone, some like it, and a lot, and others hate it or find it boring. However, everyone recognizes the good performance of Hardy.

Congratulations @martinmcfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56