Darkwave: Edge of the Storm [A triumph for independent film makers!]

in #film8 years ago (edited)

14141490_967684266688035_8830051869324626151_n

What is this glorious eye candy of sci-fi goodness? Oh, haven’t you heard of the Darkwave universe?

I have to admit, I’d never given much headway to the idea of local, independent filmmakers. I mean, coming from a media-rich University that has birthed talent such as TomSka, and Jack and Dean, perhaps I shouldn’t have been so naïve. But the idea of seeing a professional-looking, quality film feature produced in the rural county of Lincolnshire?

Nah, son. You’re having me on.

So when I met Darren Scales at a sophisticated dinner party (let’s exclude the glue-on handlebar moustaches and sombreros), and heard that he was releasing a sci-fi short set in a universe that he had created in his mind, suffice to say I was sceptical.

I’m not a huge sci-fi fan myself (Star Wars aside), so to say that I was massively drawn into the story should say a hell of a lot.

The film ‘Darkwave: Edge of the Storm’ is a 20 minute-long flick that follows a small family as they truck through the vast rural land of New Earth. The family encounter a communications chamber, park up, and it is here that the mystery is simply beginning.

From the off the quality of the film blew me away. The camera angles, the locations, the set, everything involved screamed ‘pro’. Often with independent flicks there’ll be something that catches your eye and throws the whole illusion away. But not here. Nosirreee…

The cast was a good mix of people that looked the part. I particularly enjoyed Sarah, the female lead, and her story arc with a long-lost someone (who I won’t mention too deeply to keep this as spoiler-free as possible, but let’s just say that a certain Shane Rimmer plays the part…).

Visually the film was stunning. The effects were seamless and I found myself constantly impressed by the level of effort that has gone into this piece. There are beautiful moments with shooting stars, great explosive effects, and space ships that are just intelligent and incredibly refreshing.

Overall I’d say this is a definite must watch, and something that has the potential to make its way onto thousands of screens in the future. I’m certainly invested in the story and am looking forward to where the direction of future episodes takes it.

Stellar job, Scales and team. Keep on trucking.

Want to watch the full video? Just click:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26