Tombstone (1993) - Movie Review

in #film8 years ago (edited)

Today I am going to take some time to talk about one of my all time favorite movies. Now, I know this is not a new release, but I have been surprised lately to hear how many people still have not seen or in some cases even heard of this movie. And frankly, that is a darn shame, because it is one heck of a film!

Background

Tombstone was released in 1993. It is an American Western film directed by George Costmatos and written by Kevin Jarre. The films stars Kurt Russell, Val Kilmer, Sam Elliott, and Bill Paxton. The film is based off of true events that took place right in my backyard in Tombstone, Arizona. It centers around "The Gunfight at the O.K. Corral" and the ensuing "Earp Vendetta Ride" that took place in the 1880's.

Wyatt Earp, his brothers, Doc Holliday, William Brocius, and Johnny Ringo are the central real-life characters that the film depicts. 

Plot

The film starts out with Wyatt Earp (Kurt Russell) returning to Arizona for retirement. He is a legendary lawmen made famous from his battles in other parts of the Wild West. Upon returning to Arizona he is reunited with his brothers Virgil (Sam Elliott), and Morgan (Bill Paxton) in Tucson. 

They decide they will head to the small mining town of Tucson for retirement. Upon entering Tombstone they meet Wyatt's long time friend Doc Holliday (Val Kilmer). Holliday (Kilmer) is really the star of the show... it is a shame the film didn't garner any academy award nominations because Val Kilmer was absolutely legendary in his portrayal of Doc Holliday.

Soon after getting settled in the town, the brothers plus Holiday take stake in a gambling establishment for amusement and profit. Shortly after they have their first encounter with "The Cowboys". They wear a red sash and think they own the town as they basically are able to do whatever they want because law and order are not yet established in the small mining community. The Cowboys are lead by Curly Bill and Johnny Ringo. The Earp brothers see right away that this town needs law and order and are just the men to help bring it to the town. Wyatt does not share the other two's enthusiasm for appointing themselves the lawmen of the town but reluctantly agrees when he sees there is no talking his brothers out of it.

This is made official later that day when Curly Bill is wildly shooting his guns off in the town and is approached by the local deputy and told to hand over his fire arms. Instead of handing over his weapons, Curly Bill turns his gun on the deputy and shoots him dead in the middle of the town. The Earps seeing that things are clearly out of hand, arrest Bill and take him into custody. Bill's band of cowboys think the Earps are sticking their noses where they don't belong and take serious issue with the arrest and the self appointment of law the Earps have taken upon themselves. Thus the feud is born...

Seeing that things are out of control in this town, the Earps institute a no gun policy where no one is allowed to carry a gun in town. This further infuriates the Cowboys who are used to being able to do as they please before the Earps showed up. This is what lead to the famous battle at the O.K. Corral... The Cowboys refused to give up their guns and the Earps refused to let them carry their guns because they were acting so recklessly. Multiple Cowboys are killed at the gunfight with several of the Earp brothers being wounded but nothing serious. 

Later the Cowboys ambush the Earp brothers, killing Morgan and seriously wounding Virgil as payback for the attack at the O.K. Corral. Wyatt and his family are crushed and decide they are going to leave Tombstone... However, once he sees that his family is safely on board the train he decides that he is going to take revenge on all the Cowboys for what they did to his family. He partners with Holiday and a couple others and they go on a vendetta killing any Cowboy wearing a red sash. 

After several smaller skirmishes, Wyatt finally kills Curly Bill. Upon his death Johnny Ringo vows to take revenge and calls out Wyatt for a one on one duel. Wyatt accepts but knows that Ringo is likely faster than him with a gun and a one on one duel likely would result in his own death... reluctantly he decides he will do it anyways. However, Holliday goes behind Wyatt's back and meets Ringo for a duel instead. Holliday was considered the fastest gun in the west at this time so he knew he had a good shot at beating Ringo. Ringo knew that too and didn't want to fight Holliday at first,  asking for Wyatt instead. After some badgering Holliday gets Ringo to fight him... the fight is over quickly as Holliday again proves that he is the fastest gun in the west with Ringo laying dead face down on the ground. 

After both Bill and Ringo are dead, Wyatt and Holliday continue to exterminate the rest of the sash wearing cowboys. Their vengeance resulted in a complete cleansing of the cowboy stranglehold that they previously held on the area. Soon after, Holliday's illness would overtake him and he would be bed ridden for the rest of his days till he eventually dies. Wyatt would go on to live a long and happy life. 

Reception

The film was a financial success making over $57 million dollars in world wide ticket sales. It currently ranks in the top 15 highest grossing Western Films since 1979. Rotten tomatoes gives it a score of  73% and IMDB rates it 8 out of 10. 

My thoughts

The film is amazing. Honestly. I wouldn't change a single thing about the film. Val Kilmer knocks the ball out of the park with his portrayal of Doc Holiday. He has so many one liners that I find myself still quoting to this day. In fact, when I am around my friends I would say a Doc Holiday quote comes up at least a couple times times every single time we hang out. 

"I have not yet begun to defile myself"

"I got 2 guns... 1 for each of ya"

"I'm your huckleberry"

"He's down by the river... walking on water"

"It appears my hypocrisy knows no bounds"

"Maybe poker just isn't your game... "

I find myself watching this film over and over again just to pay attention to all the lines from Doc Holliday. He makes the film worth watching all by himself. Have you seen the film? If so, what is your favorite Doc Holliday quote?

Live well my friends!

Sources:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tombstone_(film)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108358/

Image Sources:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108358/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tombstone_(film)

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

"Maybe poker just isn't your game... "

the whole quote is better

"maybe poker just isnt your game. I have an idea; lets have a spelling contest!"

Ive used that one at the table before

That one is great! How about when he spins the tea cup around his finger like a gun?!

Yeah, that was great too!

That was one of my favorites too!

So many great characters and excellent actors playing them.

Thanks for the flashback, @jrcornel!

You got it! What's your favorite Doc Holliday quote?

That is a hell of a thing for you to say to me.

Ah hell I got lots of friends... "I don't"

You gonna do somethin' or just stand there and bleed?

Haha that is great! You really do know a lot of the quotes! It's probably in my top 3 all time favorite movies... I think I have seen it at least 10 times.

"Why Ike... I forgot you were there... you may go now..."

If I thought you weren't my friend I just don't think I could bear it.

"It appears Johnny Ringo is an educated man... now I really hate him"

I agree Val Kilmer is fantastic as the half crazy Doc and maybe he was not just acting;D~
What hit this movie, was the Wyatt Earp movie that came out around the same time with Kevin Costner & Co.

I can never understand how Hollywood has no money to make original movies but will throw buckets at two movies about the same Man. I liked both. Silverado is also a favorite and of course
"The Outlaw Josey Wales" - Wyatt Earp was one of the few Legends that lived to tell his own version of the tale. I believe he was a Consultant on the first Gunfight at the OK Coral movie made in Hollywood. What a guy!

I think you are right! Yes he outlived just about everyone who was around during his time. And he probaby put himself in more danger than any of them. Amazing. And yes, I liked both movies as well. I am a western fan in general :)

I love Tombstone! Fantastic movie!

Thank you! It is definitely one of my all time favorites!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great post on an awesome movie!

I love this movie! 12 years ago I went to Old Tucson Studios (with my dad) in Arizona. I think part of the movie was shot there. A real Classic! Highly recommended.

That is great! I live out here in Arizona, it's a pretty neat place to live :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66