Something is Seriously Wrong, And Wonder Woman Shows Us What

in #film7 years ago
Best of the Best Logo

A couple weeks ago, I went to see Wonder Woman. Everything I had heard about the movie was that it was a miracle, phenomenal, outstanding.

Everything I had heard was wrong.

It's not a great movie. I'm not even sure it's a good movie. There are so many--SO MANY--gaping plot holes, unfulfilled promises, and outright stupidities that it's hard to list them all. I'm going to list some, and then I'm going to tell you why none of them matter at all. MASSIVE SPOILERS BELOW




*The great warrior-general, training the princess (in secret), is caught--by an entire troop of horse-mounted nobles, who ride up to within twenty feet of her before she notices they're there.

*Themyscera is home to a huge troop of warrior-women whose mission is to protect the world from Ares. Which they do by hiding on their island while Ares burns the world to the ground.

*The queen withholds information from Diana and substantially decreases her chances of being successful. Why? To increase her chances of being successful. This, right here, was one of the stupidest things I've seen in a film in a very long time. And I saw Pixels.

*The identity of Ares is supposed to be a secret. Except for that it's painfully, glaringly obvious who it is the first minute he's on screen.

*Soldiers have gas masks. So we need a gas that defeats gas masks. Which we then use...only on people that don't have gas masks.

And so on. I won't get into the several other things that drained the movie of any coherence, like forgetting that Belgium is next to the North Sea, so that one of our heroes has to kill himself instead of dumping the gas into the ocean, or neglecting to tell Diana that deflecting bullets is unnecessary, because she's a goddess and cannot be killed. Things that should have torpedoed this movie have not even touched it, and that is a blinking neon sign that something is terribly wrong. This movie has tapped an explosive set of emotions I don't think Hollywood understood were there.

Wonder Woman exposes a problem in American society that I personally did not appreciate the depth of. I have five sisters. I grew up in a household of strong, capable, intelligent women who were encouraged to do whatever they felt they should. Education, employment, whatever, nothing was beyond them. That's the air I grew up breathing.

Apparently, I'm in a really, really tiny minority.

The people singing the praises of Wonder Woman are women, in the main, and they are powerful, intelligent, capable women that I thought felt powerful, intelligent, and capable. But they don't. This film is resonating with them in visceral ways that astonish me, and which lead them to love and adore it in spite of the fact that a chunk of the script ranges from painful to reprehensible.

I don't mean that they're convinced Wonder Woman is a good movie. I mean they don't care. I mean things like this (from my Facebook and Twitter feeds):

I FINALLY SAW WONDER WOMAN AND I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT MY
BODY IS DOING AND MY HEART IS FEELING EVERYTHING AND I CANNOT STOP TALKING ABOUT IT.

and

Went with Emma and Kate for their 16th birthday, and the first half of the movie spent on Themyscera with the incredible women riding horses, shooting arrows, and doing awesome tough girl combat almost had my Amazonian tough girls in tears. They begged for us to PLEASE LIVE THERE!!!

and

NO WONDER MEN ARE SO OBSCENELY CONFIDENT ALL THE TIME I JUST SAW WONDER WOMAN AND NOW I'M READY TO FIGHT A THOUSAND MEN BAREHANDED

and so on. This isn't critical analysis. It's worship. Millions of women are worshipping a movie that's not actually very good, because it's saying something to them that I thought they already knew, that they are powerful, incredible people that can do hard things with class even when other people tell them they can't.

Wonder Woman shows me I was wrong. Women are not hearing these things, and they do not know them. That's a tragedy so vast I'm still struggling to process it. I feel a profound sense of shame that I have not raised my voice higher, longer, to more young women, so that they will have heard it. This is, in a way, my fault.

There isn't any doubt any longer that this is a problem, deep and wide and not even close to bridgeable by one movie or a hundred. It's going to take generations of hard work by women--and by men--to erase the painful truth: women don't think they're Wonder Woman already. They're trapped on the island, still, training endlessly (which is great) but never using those skills in the real world, because they're told they can't.

I am so sorry. I had a hand in this. No, I don't remember doing anything to make any woman feel less because of her gender, but I have often failed to help women feel more, and since the gap between men and women in terms of what they're told is so vast, that is the same thing as telling women they are less, that I go along with all the utter tripe they're being fed by the rest of the culture.

Wonder Woman is like flicking on the light in a room I've never seen before (which is also my fault, and for which I apologize and am ashamed). I can't believe what I'm seeing in that room. But I must believe it. It's too obviously true.

For a million reasons, I cannot really love Wonder Woman as a movie. But I will tell my granddaughters about it, and make sure they see it, and all the movies that come after it that tell the same kind of story, until there isn't a woman left that doesn't know the truth: you're already impossibly valuable, and capable, and strong. You do not need anyone to validate that. You don't need anyone to rescue you. You can do all you need to do, because you are all you need to be.

I just hope you let me follow, and applaud. I promise I will.

Sort:  

Wow. @cristof, you absolutely nailed it on the head. Despite all the plot errors (and i could add more to your list), Wonder Woman has become my favorite superhero film. And it is precisely because of the observations you shared. My husband, @lydon.sipe, showed this to me last night, and by halfway through I was in tears because of the truth you humbly, passionately, and unapologetically shared. It is my deep desire that all people, regardless of their sex, genuinely believe in their ability to make a positive difference in the world around them. I don't want to diminish a woman to prop up a man, nor do I want to diminish a man to prop up a woman. We can be so much better because of, rather than in spite of. So, thank you for listening to understand the experiences of the people in your life. And thank you for doing your part to help correct the course of our world's narrative.

Want to know why I love Steemit, no matter how it loves me back? Posts like this. Wonderful, dear, amazing lady, thank you from the bottom of my heart for this. You made a difference to someone today.

@cristof you have succeeded in motivated me to give it a try...she loooks cute too

Charles, she isn't cute. She is astonishing. This I can say for certain, if you're going to the movie to see Gal Godot, you will in no way be disappointed. Not one. Tiny. Bit. She is sensational in every sense of the word.

wow @cristof you will make me dream of wonder woman!!!!

I like your comment, but I saw this film and me liked it. That was different. :)

Yes! So many of my dear friends LOVED it that I know the problem isn't the movie--it's me. I'm glad you saw it, and that you liked it.

Thank you for this detailed review. I'll save my time. was gonna watch it on DVD.
All those superheroes need a stretch of the imagination but that sounds a step too far. Your last paragraph is great, very motivational, but then I already know you a mega writer :)

Very kind of you. Please, please see the film, and if you can make time and money, see it in the theater. I'm serious. It's worth it, and your experience will surely be different than mine. It might even be transformational, as it has been for so many of my friends.

Good... just one word...good! :)

Thank you!

Thanks for the heads up! Lol. Still going to see it, but I'll take it with a grain of salt. Haha. Great review!

See the real movie, not the flaws. I don't suppose I can connect with it in the way my female friends do, but I can say that their experience is powerful and authentic, and much better than mine.

Well that is good, I suppose. Thanks!

I admit it, I was also disappointed by this movie. Part of me loves the representation, but I really wish they had done a better job with the story instead of making it yet another over-the-top cliched hole-studded superhero movie.

I thought the holes were bigger than most, and the loose threads more obvious than in any movie I can remember. And yet, something happens to people in that movie that shouldn't be underestimated. There's something at work in that story that's quite hopeful to me, as a writer. I can never be perfect, my stories can never be totally right, and yet they can be powerful enough to change people, to make them see things they never saw before. That's all I should want as a writer, and THAT I can achieve.

Agreed! The perfectionist in me always wants a shiptight plot, but as I reader I notice I'm more drawn in by the characters and emotions and context. (Though I could do without them hiding behind special effects.) I am glad this movie got made and sparked the conversations it did, and I hope all our writing can do the same!

Amen to that!

So true! And this feeling is also what keeps this movie going and going at the box office. Even though this movie is far from perfect (that is a terrible villain and some terrible finale act) I watched it so many times for the priceless feeling that no other superhero movie can give me. Heck even my mom loves this movie. This movie will always be the first one for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87