Thor: The Dark World - Film Review

in #film7 years ago

  TheBloodyCritique’s ‘Thor: The Dark World’ Film Review 

  

Thor: The Dark World is the second Thor film and it’s directed by Alan Taylor who’s other work includes Terminator Genisys, that’s a bad sign, he has worked on some great TV shows though! Thor: The Dark World is set after the events of the first Avengers film and it’s about people doing things for reasons. Asgard, the mystical land from which Thor hails, is under attack by villains and Jane Foster, Thor’s love interest I guess, is infected by a powerful thing and the villains want that powerful thing. Thor must save the day and get the girl, well she’s already deeply in love with him it seems so he already has her. Thor must save the day and continue to have the girl, hurrah!    

I enjoyed the first Thor movie a lot more than this one, Thor at best is a solid good movie, it’s a movie! Thor: The Dark World is a solid okay, both of them are ultimately forgettable but this one is fading from my memory at a slightly faster rate. Again, as with the first one it’s visually sufficient, nothing felt like it was new or interesting, it’s very colourful and there’s a lot going on visually but it just washes over you, we’ve seen it all before. It’s not a well written movie either, there’s an issue with balance in regard to Natalie Portman’s story and the inclusion of earth, either have Thor on earth or have him in Asgard, the back and forth doesn’t work at all!  

  

I’m fairly confident that the ‘love story’ between Thor and Jane is the worst romance in the entire Marvel universe! They did nothing to earn it and there’s no chemistry between the two of them, the first film ends with them kissing but they literally spent like a couple of days together, if that! And nothing in the way of a romance was established during that time. It’s also worth mentioning that he hasn’t seen her since the first film meaning that The Avengers happened between now and then and he never bothered to contact her, why hasn’t he gone to see her? When he finally does she acts like they’d been in some long term relationship, they kissed once, two years ago!   

I wasn’t a big fan of the performances, Natalie Portman in particular, when Thor takes her to Asgard for the first time there’s no wonderment from Jane at all, she’s in another fucking realm! She should be amazed by it, looking around in awe at this new magical world but she’s just cool with it, it’s like she frequents there often. The villain whatever his fucking name was is shit in this film, I couldn’t have cared less it’s just a generic villain who’s evil and wants to destroy everything, I wasn’t invested in any of that stuff at all. Tom Hiddleston again was great as Loki and I like the dynamic between him and Thor but there just wasn’t enough of it. 

  

I gave a kind of half recommendation on the first Thor film but I can’t really do that here, the only reason I can think of to watch it is for neatness in completing the trilogy but if you haven’t seen either don’t watch this one, and you know what don’t watch the first one either, I take back my half recommendation! The Dark World is disgustingly forgettable, even as I write this it’s almost completely faded away from my memory, I’m gonna give Thor: The Dark World 5.8/10, give it a miss! I’ll have my review for Thor: Ragnarok up in a few hours so be sure to check back for that, I’ve heard good things and it sounds like a good premise, we’ll see. 

What did you think of Thor: The Dark World? 

Sort:  

hahaha loved this review, At first I thought it was the new one Thor Reganor or whatever but then I quickly realised and it hit me, I too have seen this movie and forgotten it ever existed! Great review, shit movie. Hey could you review an old classic, I would love to know what you thought of "The Seventh seal" From 1957.

Funnily enough that was actually on my watch-list and I tried to sit down and watch it recently but the copy I had didn't have any subtitles so I had to abandon it, I'll definitely get around to it though, it's one of those films I always hear referenced, been meaning to get around to it for a while!

Its definitely worth it, I like a lot of obscure movies that make you think and that one has that special mystery about it. I also love the fact Bill and teds bogus adventure took the idea and ran with it.

This Thor sucked... there is some good action and stuff, but theres just something about it that dissapointed me big time. This is the one Thor ill only watch that one time. Its like they went with a different style in this one compared to other marvel movies at the time, and the first Thor movie, made it darker like dc universe and less humor.

I have just been watching Ragnarok. The humor in that last one is good but movie itself is not that big of a deal.

Ragnarok was awesome!

I had to rewatch it but i found out i needed to watch another movie first to really get this part. It is a good movie but it was a 100% different then the first 2. The first 2 really sucked tho. They where way to cheesy. To really get Ragnarok tho i have to say you dk need to see the new avengers movie first

Hey @bloodycritique

Watched it twice.
First time I really enjoyed the humor, I guess so much that I didn't see many flaws.
After rewatching it with a friend. I saw that the movie lacked in character... Goddess of death was not so deathly and some characters was just in the movie to give it trailer burst like Doctor Strange...

I like how they worked with Hulk and Banner, funny.

Nice review mate

You're thinking of Thor: Ragnarok, this is Thor: The Dark World, I'll have a review for Ragnarok up in a few hours though if you wanna check back for that.

Hey mate
Hah my fault, might have misunderstood...
It was late and I was tired... Just watched the movie(Ragnarok) for the second time, really wanting to write my thoughts on it, so my mind just told me it was a Ragnarok Review, even tho I actually read some of the review thinking you were comparing the movies.

haha clearly didn't read the post!

movie blog good

I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire.

In fact I'd take any excuse to piss on you.

I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire.

In fact I'd take any excuse to piss on you.

filam post well

I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire.

In fact I'd take any excuse to piss on you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48