Mama - Film Review

in #film7 years ago

  TheBloodyCritique’s ‘Mama’ Film Review

   

Before directing the recent remake of Stephen King’s IT, Andy Muschietti first feature film was Mama released in 2013. Mama is a supernatural horror film about two little girls who, after tragically losing their parents, are missing for five years left in an abandoned cabin with a disturbing supernatural entity the girls refer to rather lovingly as ‘mama’. When the girls are finally found after five fucking years go by they’ve become wild and antisocial requiring therapy to be normal again! They’re taken in by their uncle and his band member girlfriend but Mama follows them and terrorises their new guardians.

   

I really liked IT, I loved the stuff with the kids and I enjoy Pennywise as a villain, the biggest problem with IT were the unnecessary jump scares, that problem is even more prominent here, every single ‘scary’ moment is accompanied by an annoyingly loud fucking clank sound effect, it’s cheap, it’s irritating and the more it occurred the more irritating it became, just because you can startle someone doesn’t make your film scary, if anything it’s the opposite! It’s as complex artistically as the old maze game thing kids would show you in school that ends with a picture of the exorcist and a loud scream to startle you, it’s like that about 35 times over a two hour period.  

 

It’s a shame because Mama has an interesting premise, I liked the idea of it, this scary supernatural demon whatever thing having a relationship with and being protective over these two little girls, it’s a good idea but the execution was underwhelming, the idea isn’t really explored in any depth beyond what you’d find in the synopsis and overall it felt generic but it was a solid okay, without the constant fucking shitty jump scares it would have been a solid good, it’s peppered with them though! The performances are all fine, nothing great but they’re all solidly fine, I wasn’t invested in any of the characters but they worked well enough.

   

Nikolaj Coster-Waldau is in this, he’s Jaime Lannister in Game of Thrones, he plays the father of the two girls who dies in the first 5 minutes of the film and he also plays their uncle, there was no point in him playing both characters, no point at all! There’s one moment when the older sister sees him after five years in the cabin and thinks it’s her dad, obviously, but is corrected and it never comes up again! Pointless. The five years missing things as well is stupid, they were in a cabin not too far from the main road and it didn’t seem like they were being held captive, why no one found them is beyond me!

   

All in all Mama is just another generic horror movie that doesn’t really bring anything new to the table, it’s a bit underwhelming, it’s terrible though like I say, it’s a solid okay, would I recommend it, nah, there’s not enough of a good reason to, maybe horror fans, people who love ‘scary’ movies, it’s one of them, I’m immune to being scared by films at this point but there’s some creepy visuals and spooky imagery, there’s not much more than that though so to everyone else I’d say don’t bother, it’s fairly unsatisfying, I’m gonna give Mama 5.9/10.

   

What did you think of Mama?  

Sort:  

Its a amazing movie crediot gose to producer

a very good and interesting post about the movie

really very nice post and interesting for me

worth watching once, but not as good as it was promoted to be sadly.

I've watched the movie and I absolutely agree with your review! Same goes with IT, I understand all the hype but then again I always compare it with the book and all I can do is sigh. Thank you for this. :)

Honestly I loved Mama, because despite being a fairly generic jump-scare horror movie (as you say), it leaves quite a lot unsaid. It creates narrative tension from having the spooky children be entirely harmless but still spooky as hell.

Also interesting tension: the fact that the guy and girl really aren't that tight in their relationship. She's considering leaving him because of this nuts situation she didn't sign up for.

The really interesting development through the film is that the girl does not want to be a mother at the beginning, and at the end she fights a ghost for a little girl.

With Guillermo Del Toro (who is involved) this is a common theme. Traumatic experiences are depicted supernaturally in order to put the viewer into the state of mind of someone experiencing firsthand a traumatic (but obviously) non-supernatural life event.

At the end something is resolved, but maybe not everyone can be saved.

The movie is just fine but I really expected much more. Nicely done but with no real surprises. Nice review

When I first heard Andy was going to be making IT I was so excited because I was such a Mama fan, he nailed so many things with that film, especially being his first film. BUT, when I went to see IT at the cinema, I was a little disappointed. I expected dark and gritty horror, something to scare me as an adult like when I watched IT as a kid on TV.

IT 2017 is a let down, in saying that it looks great, got the attention it deserved in production, and decent acting. But all of that means nothing when you give us a glossy Hollywood version of what should have been more of an independent looking film. I only say independent because I don't like the Hollywood lit style of filmmaking. I think if Andy had his way 100% it might be a little darker, but I don't like his choices to use CGI when it is not needed. I am very interested in what he does with number two.

If he glosses the sequel then I know I do not want him to make Pet Semetery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42