Lady Bird - Film Review

in #film6 years ago

Lady Bird is written and directed by Greta Gerwig and it's a coming of age story set in 2002 about a high-school senior growing up in Sacramento, California. Saoirse Ronan plays Christine McPherson AKA Lady Bird, a rebellious teenager with a rocky relationship with her mother and dreams of escaping Sacramento and going to college in the East Coast. The film follows her last year of high-school, her experiences growing up in a small town and her relationships with friends, boyfriends and family, and her dreams for the future.

This was actually a really good little film, it's the directorial debut from Greta Gerwig and it's a very well directed film, everything looked great! Good shots, perfectly edited and it does a great job at capturing the look and feel of Sacramento, it's almost like a love letter to Sacramento! It's also very well written as well, I liked the dialogue, I liked the characters and the dynamics between them, it's very realistic and I was invested and entertained throughout, it's a heartfelt film with lots of funny moments and I really liked the protagonist!

Saoirse Ronan was brilliant as Christine AKA Lady Bird, she's a very likeable character and Ronan delivered a great performance! This isn't a film where anything particularly spectacular happens, it's calm, it's fairly tame and it's comfortable, you get invested in these characters and you understand them, you care about them and the film takes time to give every character, even the side characters, a little history and we get a little insight into who they are, what they feel and why, and I appreciated the attention to detail in that.

All of the performances were great, Laurie Metcalf was great as Marion, Christine's overbearing mother although I did find her irritating and I'm not sure if I was supposed to, as much as I did! I loved Christine's best friend Julie, played by Beanie Feldstein, I just wanna give that chick a hug, she was great! I really liked Lucas Hedges as Danny and I thought his character had one of the most heartfelt moments with Christine, it's really touching, it's a touching film all round and I enjoyed it quite a bit, it's a very well made and effective film.

Lady Bird's an emotionally impactful coming of age story about a young girl growing up in Sacramento and it's very sweet, it's hard to have anything bad to say about it. I'd definitely recommend it, more so to the hardcore film fans given it's tame subject matter, nothing explodes at all! but I'd also throw a recommendation at the casuals as well, if you don't like the sound of the premise though then don't watch it, it is what is it. Lady Bird felt like a love letter to the director's childhood (as well as Sacramento!) and I'm gonna give it 7.5/10.

What did you think of Lady Bird?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14