Munich diaries #1: Film festival, Gärtnerplatz and tapas

in #film7 years ago (edited)

Typical. @cagu and I realise on the second last day of the Munich film festival how cool the programme is. But hey, cliches are cliches for a reason and late is better than never. Right?

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

So tonight we watched "10 days in Calcutta: A Portait of Mrinal Sen" by Reinhard Hauff at the 35th Munich film festival. I had never heard of Mrinal Sen, but I was intrigued. Mrinal Sen, a Bengali film director, turned out to be most animated and vivacious. Calcutta in the 1980s was charming, chaotic and poignant. Mrinal Sen's movies were far from mainstream Bollywood, but reflected real Indian society and its contradictions: Worth a watch. Reinhard Hauff was there to introduce his film and answer questions after the movie. In general, the film-makers connection with India and its people was remarkable and endearing.

The movie is over and we're walking around the Glockenbach neighbourhood with some good ol' Münchner Helles beer. Gärtnerplatz is exceptionally lively this evening. Why? Because today the German parliament voted "yes" to same-sex marriage, that's why! The streets are abuzz with music and rainbow-coloured flags. Ah, summer in Munich really is a sight to behold.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Strangely, all this time I was under the impression same-sex marriage was already allowed in this country, but I learnt today that registered partnerships for same-sex couples have been legal since 2001, marital and adoption rights for same-sex couples have only been granted since today. About time, right? I don't quite see why people shouldn't be allowed to be happy, as long they're not bothering or hurting anyone else. About time.

It's past dinner time and we're hungry now. A walk around Glockenbach and a quick search on Yelp leads us to this cute little tapas place we never tried before: Palau. We shared a few classic tapas - pimientos, dates wrapped in ham, patatas bravas, olive and blutwurst ("blood sausage"?)- and some sparkling red wine. Palau has a very chill vibe - tasty food + drinks, super friendly owner, reasonably priced. It's less of a restaurant and more of a bar. I was too hungry to take pics of the food, but here is their Yelp page: https://www.yelp.de/biz/palau-m%C3%BCnchen-2

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed the post and see you soon again.

IMG_20170630_204953.jpg

Sort:  

what a big and captivating smile, sehr schön!!!!

Bitte Schön. I joined few weeks ago like you and doing great. Following you in order to stay in touch and send in my support to you. Wish you succeee @bkochar , keep steeming , and lets stay in touch

Cool, thanks, looking forward to your posts too! So far I really like the community, but still in the process of getting the hang of things and experimenting with writing. Good luck to you too and bis bald

Danke schön, am sure we will do great and make lots of money while having fun in steemit. Best thing is to create good contacts here as am doing hence the success ..feel free to check my last post and get some free cryptos.

Will do! Btw, seems like we're both Warwick alumni, btw, although I must admit I was only there for an exchange semester.

Which program did you do there? was it at at WBS ?
I did my exchange EMBA at Mannheim Business School MBA..
How is your experience at steemit and Crypto world?
Both of us stay in Bavaria..haha
lets stay in touch

That's funny, I studied full-time at the University of Mannheim, and yes, my exchange semester was at WBS. My experience on Steemit so far is positive, but I still have a lot to learn. My experience in the Crypto world is extremely little. Stay in touch :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49