Rolls of Film Nº1

in #film7 years ago (edited)

17360029.jpg
Hello everyone, I'm new here and well just thought that I'd like to start by sharing some of the things that I love. One such thing; photography.

I recently acquired a few older film cameras with which I fell in love! I've been slowly collecting more and more gear, and been testing it out, learning as I go.

Film photography has always been an intrigue for me. In an era where digital photography has become the prevalent medium and I only vaguely remember my parents snapping my photo and winding that lever.

Here I'll share with you some rolls of film! I'll try to do this as a series and post maybe twice a month! I'll try to take the best photos I can on one whole roll and then sort of dump them here. I'll critique them myself but your input is important to my learning process so please comment and critique! I'll leave the info on the gear I was using, dates, locations, and of course information on the roll of film and if I remembered to write it down exposure times (unfortunately not this time).

Camera


IMG_1188.jpeg

For this roll I was using a Minolta XD7, with a Fujifilm 200 ISO roll. I was using two different lenses both Minolta glass; a 50mm lens at f2 and a 500mm Minolta mirror lens with a fixed f8.

Location


Angers, France! 2nd of September 2017

Nº1


17360001.jpg
First image of the roll early in the morning! So here we start with a photo of the castle in the city centre. The castle dates from the 12th century if I'm not mistaken and is rather impressive in person! The castle house a small chapel inside its stone walls and sits not to far from the central cathedral - St Maurice.

I had just gotten back home on a long flight and had not been able to sleep. I always like to steal an image or maybe even half a frame on each roll by only inserting the minimal amount of lead into the spool. Sometimes the effect can be quite artsy. In this case, hmmm didn't come out so well I think.

  • Exposure guesstamate: I don't really remember very well and was too tired to write down my exposure times, but I think this first frame I did at 10 seconds with the 50mm lens. Some of the later frames might have been up to 1min. I was trying to experiment with exposure times and since I was using the 500mm f8 later on I figured I had to compensate!

Nº2


17360002.jpg
This image came out a bit better I think I had actually increased the exposure time! Although, remembered to use the cable release I had put in my pocket earlier! This of course gave a sharper image but the tree is not exactly how I had imagined it would look like on film! The image overall is just way overexposed, don't worry though I'm not a total noob and there are a few good images later on!

Someone once told me that in the old days, if you get at the most 1 good frame per roll you had a good day!

  • Exposure guesstamate: I think this was around the 30sec exposure time. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº3


17360003.jpg
Here we go! Refreshing we finally get a good exposure at this point! I think I had actually just set the camera to aperture priority so the exposure time was done automatically for me! I know, I know not at all pro but still a good image is a good image. Here we can start to see some of the details in the architecture and that there is actually a river! Yes I was on the over side of the riverbed while snapping these photos. I was trying to work as quickly as I could because I knew the sun would come up and I wanted to move to get some nice images with that sunrise.

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº4


17360004.jpg
A repeat of number 3, just moved the composition a bit. Frame's a bit lower and I feel it's just a better shot you're now looking straight on instead of slightly up!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº5


17360005.jpg
Again same as number 4, this one I had retaken though because I thought the previous frame had been knocked during exposure!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº6


17360006.jpg
This must be one of my ultra long exposures! Judging by the whiteness on some parts of the photo I would say it was maybe a 30-40s long exposure. I'm not too happy about this one but I do like how the boats are actually pretty sharp!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 30-40s. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº7


17360007.jpg
1min exposure definitely, look at the leaves on the tree up top, even they are turning white!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 1min. Again with the 50mm lens at f2.

Nº8


17360008.jpg
Here I've pulled out the big lens and started trying to work out the focus etc. It's actually quiet difficult to focus perfectly! It does have a rather large range of focus so I'd attribute any fogginess to my novice set up.

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº9


17360009.jpg
At this point I'm starting to try different exposure times, but not by changing them manually but by fixing the ttl meter in frame to a point and priming the shutter release to fix the meter's exposure time! I find that if I'm not sure about the exposure time to use this often helps get ok results. Another problem with this lens is that it can be rather dark especially if there is not much available light to begin with.

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº10


17360010.jpg
Exposure is different, but not sure why my following images came out a little blurry. I think it might have just been the cruddy tripod I was using. I did not have a proper tripod at the time and was using one from a telescope; it was way to light to do the job and not sway in the wind I guess!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº11


17360011.jpg
Composition change, I actually quiet like this image. However it's still blurry! Remember at this point I am actually still on the other side of the river! I am just using the 500mm lens! That gives you an idea of the zoom on this baby!

I actually tried to get some photos of the moon later! I could see individual craters of the moon through the lens but my exposures were way off and thus not worthy of posting! Maybe I'll try again at a later date.

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº12


17360012.jpg
Much sharper image, at this point I think I was going for 3-5second exposures. The photos are sharp but the colours are just overexposed. This is a problem I am actually not sure how to avoid in situations like this. There wasn't much light to work with and an f8 lens is just not the right tool maybe?

  • Exposure guesstamate: 3-5s. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº13


17360013.jpg
Composition change, not much to say!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 3-5s. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº14


17360014.jpg
Exposure adjustment and composition change! I think I had gone back to auto expose at this point. I really have to remember to write down my exposures next time!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº15


17360015.jpg
Finally a good image from the 500mm lens! I really like this one! I actually almost don't mind the off colours, it's probably just the sun - and it's glorious!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº16


17360016.jpg
Back to the 50mm lens at this point! I think I had just wanted to do one more after the change in light!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº17


17360017.jpg
Finally! Now these start getting nice! This is probably one of my favourites from this roll! I had actually used the meter to pre-determine an appropriate exposure time at this point and instead of having to deal with the automatic setting I had just set to manual so I know I would get an even exposure.

  • Exposure guesstamate: 1/125s. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº18


17360018.jpg
Long exposure probably 20s, I really like round numbers!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 20s. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº19


17360019.jpg
30s long exposure! Eerie!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 30s. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº20


17360020.jpg
Probably auto-exposure!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº21


17360021.jpg
Same! I just love the way the light bounces of those waves, and even inside the cabin of that small boat! I just have to better myself because it's much more beautiful in person and I'd like to eventually be able to capture those moments!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº22


17360022.jpg
Composition change, and I saw a fish move!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº23


17360023.jpg
1min exposure! Glassy surface!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº24


17360024.jpg
Slight lens flare, doesn't look too bad!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº25


17360025.jpg
Ugly!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº26


17360026.jpg
We're almost done stick through! Here I had seen some birds off in the distance! Again I haven't changed positions just using the 500mm lens!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº27


17360027.jpg
Almost perfect! I loved this shot! I knew there was something here so I snapped a few more!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº28


17360028.jpg
I tried to replicate the previous shot! Not enough birds, and out of focus!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº29


17360029.jpg
THIS, THIS IS MY FAVOURITE SHOT! I knew it the moment I snapped it, this would be the shot!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº30


17360030.jpg
No birds, less magic!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº31


17360031.jpg
This is another amazing shot! Although be careful not to look at the sun! IT HURTS! At this point pretty sure I had set exposures to 1/1000s, way too much light!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 1/1000s. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº32


17360032.jpg
Composition change!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 1/1000s. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº33


17360033.jpg
I think this is the best one from that set, a little lens flare too!

  • Exposure guesstamate: 1/1000s. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº34


17360034.jpg
Here I had spotted the inside of the cabin on that boat! I just loved the light! So warm and soft!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº35


17360035.jpg
SUMMER

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº36


17360036.jpg
Statute on bridge, he is only partially visible in the previous images.

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 500mm lens at f8.

Nº37


17360037.jpg
Here I had a couple more frames to go and I wanted to finish the roll before going to sleep! Just beautiful colours! Great way to finish a roll which had been mostly black, white, and orange!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

Nº38


17360038.jpg
The bridge had just been repaved! It's a shame really it used to be cobble stone...! Plus it stunk!

  • Exposure guesstamate: Aperture priority. 50mm lens at f2.

After finishing the roll I was tired, yet excited to be back home! I had it developed that same day! Hope to come back and share some more soon! Wish me luck.

Sort:  

Congratulations @atropos! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74