The Magic of Nature

in #fiftywords7 years ago (edited)

I haven't done one of these #fiftywords stories in a while and I'm so glad I'm back at it! This challenge was originally started by the lovely @miniature-tiger, and has been since continued by the equally lovely @jayna. Check out jayna's announcement post: Fifty-word story prompt and contest.

The theme for this round is bark. Here's my entry:

The Magic of Nature

(Image credit: Toby_Parsons from Pixabay.)

Allisandra placed her hand against the bark of the pine tree. It was warm, and pulsated beneath her soft touch. The magic of nature breathed through the tree, sending a tingle into her fingers and igniting her soul. It welcomed her, and her essence fused with it--they became as one.


Small bit of trivia: The name Allisandra means of great nature.

Sort:  

This is a good story. You really brought the tree to life.

I like this one (maybe because I'm one of those high fantasy nerds or something) 😀. I felt like you described the "magical feeling" very well, and was especially drawn to "The magic of nature breathed through the tree, sending a tingle into her fingers and igniting her soul." Great sentence and great job on the #fiftywords challenge.

Thank you so much! :)

Oh this is beautiful, @therosepatch! And the character’s name is lovely and meaningful!

When the story came to me I knew I had to find a name that had to do with nature. It just made sense!

I'm a really big fan because it completely avoids dogs. And I wrote a dog story, so I get the allure of dogs.

Trees are a lot harder to write than dogs, I think, because they just do less.

And yet here you have made a tree do a whole lot in a little space.

Thanks for the good read!

Ahh, nice thing with the name :D It's cool when writers are cognizant of why they pick a name.
Nice stuff! It's cool you actually talked about tree bark instead of something barking :P

I like it. A very naturalistic take on the challenge. This could easily have been a poem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58