Dragon Egg

in #fiftywords6 years ago

76eec5578051db6b97713a611fa45777.jpg

Ruby stepped out from the forest and boarded the canoe. The mountains loomed in the distance, taunting her. For one split second she wanted to turn away.

She peered inside her satchel. The dragon’s egg lay still--her only hope of getting Jared back. She gripped the oar. Time to go.

This is my #fiftyword story for @jayna's challenge. The theme was forest. While this turned out more as an opener than a micro story, I still kinda like it. Maybe one day I'll explore this story world and expand on what you see here :)

Images used were found on pngtree.com under a paid subscription with a royalty free commercial license. I just stuck them together.


Sort:  

This is an interesting start, going to read the second part right now. Hope the egg stays safe.

Well, darnit, I had just enough story to get intrigued and then poof. It's over. Curse you fifty word challenges! (Shakes fist)

Don't worry, I plan to explore this one further eventually. :)

Definitely seems like an opener since there's so much setup. :) It could easily be the seed for a much larger story, but it's still very fun on its own. Good stuff!

A story of fifty words. I will be scared to try.
I'm going to take those exercises seriously.

I would love to see a story off this.

Oh my, @therosepatch! This is so imaginative and interesting. I do like it on its own, but I have to agree with the others who are nudging you to see where this one might take you. It's lovely!

A great little story, yet also the start of something so much more. Nicely done :)

No! I want more! What happens next with Ruby? Very well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51