FiftyWord Story Challenge - Business plan

in #fiftywords6 years ago

This week prompt for the 50-word challenge hosted by @jayna, is chase. Below you will find my little story.

IMG-PHOTO-ART-126754885-01.jpeg

"One day I will buy that house and paint it in green." said Timmy looking at the old Henry's house.

"And how will you afford such an acquisition?" father asked.

"I will build my own company."

"It is good to chase your dreams. However, be careful not to be disappointed."


This dialogue between young Timmy and his father may seem something usual, some small Sunday talk. We might even had similar conversations with our toddlers. What I wanted to capture is the father's attitude.
How many of us laughed when the young ones proudly announced their future plans? I personally laughed when my son told me he wants to be an astronaut. I was wrong. Would it be impossible for him to travel among stars? I think not and, probably, my laughter discouraged him a little. But I will not make this mistake again. No more laughing.
Timmy's father however had a proper reaction. He listend to his son and encouraged him to follow his dreams. At the same time, he suggested Timmy to set his expectations correctly so he could avoid disappointment. Perhaps one day Timmy will afford the old house but not due to "his own company". Or maybe he will have a company but it will not be too profitable. Who knows? Disappointment comes in different forms and we should prepare our kids. But carefully as we still want them to be confident.


The image I used is a photo of a house (a mansion, more likely) located in one of our beautiful cities. I applied some digital filters and I believe now we can all imagine what Timmy has in mind regarding old Henry's house. 🙂

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Love the edit, well done!

What about the story? 🙂

I'm happy you liked the green painted house.

The story is good and you're right about not discouraging kids or anyone else 🙂

Thank you 🙂

Always a pleasure 🙂

Nice story. We certainly can't underestimate our children's dreams and their capacity to realize them, no matter how crazy they sound. Even if they can't eventually achieve them, it is always worth the ride, and they will feel so much better about themselves and their loved ones for supporting them.

Thank you for the comment. Much appreciated.
And just realised this evening that I must set my son's expectations correctly...he just jumped from a ladder in his Spiderman suit. No damage apart from his ego. 😂

Hahahaha. Oukei. Those are extreme cases. Tell him he can become an actor and CGI guys will allow him to do all those stunts without injuries. :)

I would rather see him a CGI guy. Fame and money do not always bring happiness. And he loves drawing and gaming. So...why not CGI?
But these are only dreams. I really want him to be healthy and happy. 🙂

Of course, we all want that for our kids. If only we could implant that certainty into their brains :)

You've got to dream, and dream as big as you want to. i firmly believe that nothing is impossible if we set our minds to it, and are willing to put in time, effort and dedication to get there... Sure, it may be easier for others, but that's just the way it is..

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Very nice story, @roxy-cat! And this topic is a good discussion starter. It's so difficult to know what to say to kids when their dreams seem really huge. But I personally believe we shouldn't say "be careful not to be disappointed." To me that sends the message that kids shouldn't want too much or try too hard or feel too hopeful. But I think they should want great things, and they should try as hard as they can, and always hope and dream.

The fact is, their ideas and dreams will likely change many times over the years, and all we need to do is encourage that exploration as they find their way. Sometimes I think I would have a very different life if my parents simply applauded my ideas for the future. What a great topic for a story!

As always, your artwork is amazing.

You are right. Reading it again later on, I reckon I should have rephrased it.
Parents should be supportive but keeping a sense of reality at the same time.
Same here, maybe if I had my parent's full support, I would have been somewhere else. Perhaps not what I dreamed as a kid but somewhere near. Or at least I could have said: I tried but didn't work out...but I tried.
Yes, this is a topic which could easily be covered by a book or, at least, a longer story.

I'm happy you liked my "green house". Thank you again for support and advice.

Lovely edit and it fits this nice stoy so well! :)

Thank you, my dear. Much appreciated. What about trying this lovely challenge? It's a great opportunity to practice your writing skills and meet wonderful people. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33