Fifty-Word challenge - Good deeds do not remain unpunished

in #fiftywords6 years ago

1535295024051-01.jpeg

"Why do you keep feeding these filthy beggars? Can't you see they are always at our door?" he shouted angrily.
Wiping a tear, she whispered:
"My momma always told me that good deeds will bring happiness."
"Then take them to your precious momma!"
And he left, slamming the kitchen door.


This is my entry to Fifty-word story challenge hosted by @jayna. This week prompt was deed and I must admit it was a tough one. 🙂
There were many possibilities: good deeds, bad deeds, rewards for our deeds. I chose to write about good deeds which bother others.
My two characters are the very different ingredients of a married couple. Their life seem to follow the same pattern: he is the man of the house and everyone should obey. Everything she does is not good and she often sheds tears.
This time, her husband is not happy with her feeding the less fortunate people and he even questions the lessons given by her mother. It looks like doing good is seen like a bad thing by other. Furthermore, the elders wisdom is being ignored and blamed.
I hope you will like my story.


The photo I used is my own and it shows a knot, an iron knot. My choice might seem strange but I believe it symbolizes the relationship between my characters: a strong bond impossible to be destroyed even by those who made it.


Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Great story, @roxy-cat. And that picture is amazing. Simple, yet...
Marriages in the past used to be conceived as such; iron knots. My mother told me stories about my father being a jerk, but divorce was not considered an option. Women would rather wither under the shadows of abusive husbands than venture on an unstable life, or raise children without a father figure.
That has changed, of course.
The scene depicted in your story actually reminds me of my own parents. My mother has always been super generous. My father did not enjoy that generosity (and he was partly right, sadly) because some people just took advantage of her.
My mother's philosophy? A good deed will always be a good deed.

Thank you, @hlezama.
I'm sorry you had to face these problems as a kid. Times were difficult and, even if divorce became an option, there are still women and children caught by the "iron knot".
I don't know if there are positive aspects of these failed relationships...apart from our development as human beings. At least for those willing to learn from the mistakes.
Maybe our little stories will inspire people to do some changes with their lives and do good deeds. 🙂

Maybe they will. I have always trusted literature's redemptive power. The history of western civilization has many significant examples of social changes ignited by literature.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66