The Thirst for Freedom

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

war-2930486_1280.jpg
source

Scorpions danced around my beaten… bruised body.

“Name, rank, and serial number,” was all I repeated to my captors.

Scorched by the blazing fire, I sat defiant on the battlefield.

“Water?”

I shook my head, “No,” resisting a drink that would quench my thirsty soul in exchange for actionable intelligence.


Backstory
During the time of capture and torture by enemy forces, U.S. military soldiers are required to give their name, rank and serial number and not answer additional questions that could jeopardize U.S. Intelligence (foreign policy and national security operations).

Many methods of physical and mental torture are used, including the use of water to solicit actionable intelligence. Giving a captor too much water (i.e. water-boarding) or no water at all, is sometimes used to break the spirit of the solider. In the U.S., torture is considered illegal.


I hope you enjoyed this 50-word short story that I penned using the word prompt for this week “water” created by @jayna in the #fiftywordswriting challenge.


IMG_1493pye.jpg

Created in PhotoFunia

Sort:  

Interesting read... Many a good man withstood horrendous torture down through the years.. I do think all sides have partaken in it though... Lots of skeletons in lots of military closets I suspect..

That’s an interesting interpretation of the word water as a prompt. I like how you developed your story. Looking at the weather right now, I associate water with hurricanes and floods. Great job!

Thank you for reading and the positive feedback @jluvs2fly.

Very powerful, @pyemoney. And really interesting backstory info! Thank you for that.

When I'm captured by the enemy, I just repeat name and rank. I've filed off my serial number. (^_^)

As the Nike campaign suggests, you do everything you gotta do for what you believe in, even sacrificing your life.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49