The Lunar Fall, A Fifty Word Story and Digital Art. @jayna

in #fiftywords7 years ago

The Lunar Fall

Like a husk of weathered bark, the remains of the Moon peeled from the sky and fell earthward. The tides had long since disappeared. The oceans were dead. The land was slowly choking to death.

Night was alit one last time and all understood. There was no continuing on alone.

Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 9.56.01 AM.jpg

.....................................................................................................

Digital art is a composite of images found in the public domain

Copyright Pryde Foltz

Sort:  

Very good. This reminds me I want to start doing those daily 5 minute freewrites that @mariannewest does! You would be a natural at it Pryde and it only takes 5 minutes. Bet you would enjoy it too.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-137-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-witches

Thanks, Paul. Still feel I am getting my feet wet, here. I will let you lead the way. You do have tendency to do that for me ... wink wink .. and I am grateful. Looking for your first free write, my friend, and then I'll dive in too:)

Thank you so much!!!

Glad I found this again, @prydefoltz. Read it shortly after joining Steemit (before I learned how to get around). Found it again at @Jayna's post. The idea of the moon falling, and why, is eerily primordial. Like the beginning in reverse. To begin again...

I think that is an astute observation. Thank you, ktfabler:)

You're so welcome.
moon-3177960_640_cropped.jpg

Bereft tale of finality. Intriguing imagery comparing the end of the moon remnant to flaking bark.

nice take on the meaning of 'bark'. good imagery

Thank you, dirge:)

I like how you contextualized the key word into this sci-fi 50 words story.

Thank you, sciencevienna:)

love the digital art and Moon imagery - so this the way the world ends?

Thank you, John:) We have some time ... lol:) And there is always Mars:):):)

Nice story and digital art, but this is a little scary haha

Only if one is afraid of letting go ... it is human and I see your point:)

I like how you interpreted bark imaginatively! Very creative!

Thank you, wilfredn:)

It’s lovely! Ooh fun. I can already tell it will be tough judging this contest!

Thank you, Jayna:)

I love your Digital Art 🦋

Thank you, May:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80