Wasteful: A fifty-word story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Wasteful.jpg


Wasteful

“Mum, can I have that chocolate?”

“No sweetie. That’s your sister’s.” Brad frowned, then scoured the cupboard and settled for gummy worms.


After school, the chocolate lay on the table. It was melted once unwrapped. He flung the wrapper at the wall, stormed to his room and slammed the door.


Prompt: Chocolate
Writer: Jeremy Mifsud
Photo: Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

Sort:  

Nice story, @poetrybyjeremy. So, he wanted the chocolate but was denied it, and yet his sister just let it melt, right? This sounds vaguely familiar. I am pretty sure things just like this happened between my kids when they were little!

Exactly. It has happened to me over and over again. Last week it was hazelnuts that went quite soft. This week it was peaches -- both my sister and my dad returned from work with the peach given to them still uneaten, while i was denied those peaches just the day before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82