You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: undiscovered discovery :: 50 word short story

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Thanks for reading, and your personal insights!

I think the nature of a child is to be excited by new things; everything is amazing to a child.

In a group, I think, you're forced to lose a lot of that individual observation, and everything becomes more about being with the group and interacting with others and establishing some kind of rank in the pecking order and not standing out. Even if you're just with one other person, you focus on them.

One child alone, however, is free to explore anything he/she wants in any way they want.

As we got older, we lose that sense of wonder and the skill of patient observation. Some of us rediscover it.

The lower-case title text was more of a way to make it seem more casual and childlike instead of something grand and formal. These little beautiful things happen all the time all around us, and it's casual and common, but we never notice it.

Semi-relatedly, if there's one redeeming factor to social media, it's that it makes us think a little bit more about the world around us, since we're kind of looking for things to share with others. I know that as I've written more fiction recently, I'm a lot more aware of the world around me and interactions between things because I want my stories to be accurate and I'm looking for ideas and little bits of reality to weave into whatever I'm writing.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Always a pleasure to read your stories! I really like your style, which is why I come by your blog directly when I decide to browse Steemit and read a bit. You're quite right about the dynamic when one is part of a group, even if it's merely a couple. That's the reason some things are more enjoyable in groups, while others lose a lot of what makes them great if not experienced alone.

I find your thoughts on social media quite refreshing. I've always marveled at the possibilities they introduce, but lately it's a bit difficult not to focus on the... dangerous? Yeah, the dangerous path down which it leads individuals and society at large. Dopamine hit induced loss of attention spans and self-appreciation in favor of likes and retweets and upvotes, etc...

But certainly, sharing is the "point" of social media, and it's at its best when we use it that way. I can relate, as I've begun to look for picture opportunities and stories to share in everything I experience daily. It's quite refreshing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69