Dreams and Nightmares - A Ride Aboard the Ghost Ship

in #fiftywords7 years ago

4D9131C0-D260-4E4A-ACA9-4A485F641CBB.png

It was the Bay Area Dream.

Art, music, community and cheap rent.

No matter that it was loud, and unregulated. Or that there were too many wires.

The single oddly built stairway lost its charm that night.

When the fire consumed the dream and 36 people died in a nightmare.


This 50 word story is based on The Ghost Ship Tragedy which happened in Oakland, CA on December 2, 2016.

It is my contribution to the 50 word story contest by @miniature-tiger.

If you enjoyed my 50 word story, please see my other one.

Thanks for stopping by, I ❤️ your comments.

Sort:  

Great story. Ill be waiting for the next one now to see how you make out.

Thanks for visiting.

Great write. 50 words is so very few to try and tell a tale in. I don't think I could have done it at all. Kudos.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate you reading my story.

If I recall correctly you did recieve some of your mothers gift for words. I hope to see some more of your writing soon.

Looking forward to original content :)

Take a look around my blog. It’s all original work from me.

Kudos to you metzli, more grace

💃🏽💃🏽

It really was a tragedy. The remnants of the building are still there. Thanks for commenting.

Sad post. It made me think of a song by Harry Chapin, "What Made America Famous?"
If you have not heard it is worth a listen if only as a history lesson.

50 word story is an interesting idea. More interesting would be to see if my sister in law could just use 50 words a minute!

She can talk - lol.

A hahaha. You’re brave to mention your SIL on blockchain.

I've been on her to join Steemit. But by the time she decides to - this comment will be buried on my feed! LOL

Love you Martha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58