"Hush" - 50-Word Challenge (a micro Story for @jayna)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Hi, fifty-worders and readers.

This is my second entry into @jayna's #fiftywords contest. The prompt for this week is “danger.”

I hope you can read my entry, and hopefully, you’ll like it and/or leave a comment.


Hush

One silent year since she’d suffocated it with his little pillow, but today it’s learned she’s pregnant. Outer night pushes the windows. Its whining makes her hurry. She slams the door; the sign reads “Danger.” It still looks stupid. Now a cacophony of bones and burping echoes in the hall.

•●~•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•~●•

Thanks for reading.

•●~•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•●••●•●•●•~●•

Click here to read the original post of this 50-Word Story Contest by @jayna
.

Here, some background, just in case you're interested:

When I was little, this neighbor told me about a girl who drowned her newborn in a tub, out of despair and heartbreak, for the baby’s father (an older guy) wouldn’t accept the baby was his; after many years, she found a new love and got married. When she got pregnant, her murdered baby came to claim his place in the house. That's the kind of thing you don't tell a five-year-old. I guess I'm one of those people who try to overcome bitterness by dealing with the flavor until they get to develop some taste for it. Instead of keeping a diary, I write stories.

Image

Here, my invitation to join @EquipoCardumen on Discord (Spanish only).

Here, the link to #SteemitSchool on Discord (English + all languages)


Logo designed by @octocel


Image designed by @wilins

Sort:  

Wow, that is an intense ghost story, @marlyncabrera! Too bad I am catching up on Steemit as a way to deal with my insomnia! 🤣

But seriously, it is crazy that someone told you that story when you were just a little girl. You poor thing! You must have had nightmares. Writing fiction is a great way to deal with all the weirdness life sends our way.

Well, ghost stories are good to get you under your sheets. It worked for me when I was 12 and began to read Poe; now I use a good horror movie ;-)

It was an old lady. Blunt! They told stories like that in front of us little kids. It was pretty medieval.

Thak you, @jayna! Wish you good sleep :D

Some people/things bite the hand that feed them; others feed the mouth that bites them. Really creepy!

Well, that's some creepy statement, @hlezama. I loved your story, by the way. I'm working on my comments. See you there :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54