Escape (Fiftywords story)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Five mouldy years cooped up in their huge house. Sometimes together, mostly alone. She placed the envelope on the coffee table. 'To Fred'. Two suitcases in the trunk of the car. She drove for hours without stopping until she reached the beach. Cool and empty in the dusk. Space, finally.

escape.jpg

Story written for @jayna's #fiftywords challenge. The prompt this week is 'space'.
Image is my own.

Sort:  

A very sad story! It touched my heart. Greatly done.

Ahhh, I get such a feeling of freedom from this. I can relate, a lot, I'm afraid to say haha. I've fantasised about similar things in the past - this beautifully captures the ideal.

I've always loved the sea so the beach was the ideal place to run away.

What a touching story, @marie-jay <3 I really liked your choice of words!

Thank you, honey!

I like this. Seems like I've been coming across a lot of wistful sort of stories about separation and renewal lol. Could be the whole "season change" thing; you know, Spring and all.. :)

Excellent story in so few words; well done...

I hope she finds her freedom! Great work. This is beautiful!

Wow. This is really amazing. You managed to capture so much implied story. This is one of the best one of these that I've read so far. Great writing.

Sweet, liberating freedom. :) I dream of my own sea-side escape, though I'll be dragging my "Fred" with me, haha!

Oh, I REALLY like this one! Great job in fifty words!

The right decision... Difficult to make it, but her life was doomed if she stayed put..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67