A Rival / An entry for 50-word story challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Here is my first try of writing a 50-word story ever, I was never brave enough to go for it, considering the limits being too harsh, haha, but inspired by this week's prompt, which is "sea", I just couldn't stay away from it )))))

2018-06-13-12-29-37.jpg


U5dsPuCRrcGBYFrmdAJXzjHQYxcsFxc_1680x8400.png

She hated the sea...
Little did she know that she would compete with something so invincible.
The recent battle was won, - she bore him a child, maybe the only thing her rival wasn't able to do... but now, watching him disappear again, she realized that the sea has given him himself.

U5dsPuCRrcGBYFrmdAJXzjHQYxcsFxc_1680x8400.png

Original words and image
Join the challenge here
My gratitude to @jayna for the initiative

Sort:  

short and precise....a great initiative and a great story :)

I also thing that this initiative is remarkable!!!! Not so easy to put big thoughts in 50 words )
Thank you for your attention and kind words, @steemflow!

Very nice! You did very well with your first 50-word story. There is a lot going on here, and there are some powerful forces at play. So the main character and another woman love the same man, but only she had a baby with him. Now is it the child or the man disappearing into the sea?

You don’t have to answer. Maybe other readers want to say what they think is going on.

It was an interestingly unexpected read to me, Jayna! I'm surprised and glad that my writing can be read on this level as well ) Thank you for sharing your impressions!

This is such a well told story in the 50 word limit. You create a complex character, I had such a clear image of her waiting at the docks with her child, knowing that he would never love her as much as the sea. Such a relatable depth of emotion, sometimes you will never be enough, no matter how hard you try <3

Wow! You felt it just right, sensitive soul! I'm glad that I managed with my limited vocabulary ) thank you so much for all the words and emotions, Calluna )

Oh I love it <3 so glad you are joining in the madness :D I do occasionally as well <3

Ahahaha, it took me a while to join in, as usual my unconfidence with the English language...

Stop worrying you speak better english then most Americans trust me, LOL!

This is lovely. I'm sure this is a sentiment shared by the partners of sailors, or of those in the Navy. Nicely done!

Thak you so much!!! And, yep, it's called "bull's-eye", I believe ))) In russian we say, straight to the apple )))
My father is a sailor...

Very nicely weaved, and an impressive first fiftyworder.... Welcome to the crazy gang :o)

Hahaha, I'm glad to join you guys!!!! Hopefully, I'll have some free time to read more entries )

Great idea. That's the best way to get to know everyone :o)

This is gorgeous! The idea of 'competing' with something that powerful is a striking one indeed, and I think could be applied to anyone whose love is always focussed elsewhere. Well done, you've used the brevity of the form to full effect :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32