Stumps

in #fiftywords7 years ago (edited)

Stumps

By I.L.T. Yodith

I found him under the white-barked sycamore.
No tag. No collar. Just a happy little guy with half-a-leg less than other dogs.
His bark accompanied my best-lived moments.

walking-1681031_640.jpg
Photo by hoffmanink

I found the sycamore chopped down.
No reason. No explanation.
Just a smooth little stump with infinitely more memories than other trees.


Entry for the fifty-word story prompt and contest

Sort:  

Love the play on words.

Are you joining my writing contest? Would love to have you.

Express yourself. Dogs’ ears are extremely expressive. It’s no wonder! There are more than a dozen separate muscles that control a dog’s ear movements.

Unsubscribe.

I like how you juxtaposed the two things - the image of the dog, and the image of the tree. And the two types of "bark." Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43