The DoorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)


"What would it take to get me out of here?" I ask the door. My awareness dimly grows. I won't get an answer. The door doesn't exist.
I'm waking now, into another day of torturous existence. My memory of the door quickly fades, but the question only grows in significance.

Thus is my entry for the Fifty Word Story Challenge prompted by the word 'If'.

Photo by Lalesh Aldarwish from Pexels

Sort:  

not much to add.
Everyone can relate to that. ... Or so I guess

Really intriguing story, @goastrighter! It is a mind bender. If you are so inclined, I would love to know the story behind the story. 😊

Mmm... that is somehow I easier to try and say in fifty words... it's not a happy story but it's what the prompt inspired. The fact that it's a 'fiction' challenge slipped my mind I guess when I wrote it. It's quite autbiographical to be honest but not exactly...
It's about feeling blocked and incapable of seeing a way out of a difficult situation.. and also how the stress contributes to the cause. A viscious cycle really...and also about being inspired in dreams but being so disconnected and unable to integrate the meaning and the lesson.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with what erh.germany said, that everyone probably can relate to that. I was wondering why the story had such a familiarity to it, and I think that's it -- that sometimes things block us whether or not they are truly there. It's interesting that you chose a door, which is of course symbolic of freedom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55111.68
ETH 2306.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31