The Plan - 50 Word Short Story Challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago

pablo.png

The Plan


The congregation huddled together around the map. Toy soldiers were placed sporadically, with no immediate coordination.

If there was any doubt, now was the time to speak up.

A rhythmic knock at the door signalled the arrival of the leader.

There was no turning back now.

The war had begun.

divider-2154993_640-small.png

This is my entry to @jayna’s 50 word story challenge.

Find out about it here.

Image from Pixabay

Divider.

Mizu no Oto Gaby banner.png

Sort:  

Wow, nice, @gaby-crb. I'm sorry for the delay in responding! Finally recovering from the Hard Fork challenges over the last week. So... in your story I'm thinking that the war that has begun is a pretend one with little green army men. But, please share your vision of the story and setting. I'm interested to hear about it!

It is okay, I have been struggling to post and comment myself.
The challenge seemed really difficult this time, there were so many different ways to take the word if.
I think the story hints at children with the toy soldiers and having no organisation, I took part in many 'wars' as a kid. I tried to leave it vague as the reader creates the image they want to make. I seem to be writing a lot of stories featuring children at the moment so I believe its best to say it could be either a pretend war or a real one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55111.68
ETH 2306.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31