Stuck, a 50 word story

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Stuck~

The coffee table stood, littered with crumpled beer cans and overflowing ash trays. On my lap was a notebook, and beside me, a laptop. I held the pen between my lips, staring at the wall.

“I’m never going to finish this damned book.” I said with despair, dropping the pen.

Sort:  

Please leave me some feedback, if you would! That is, if it doesn't inconvenience you to do so. Just a writer, trying to grow.

With that attitude it is certainly difficult to finish anything, certainly the story reflects a complicated character that we hope will not be yours. LOL

No... it is not me. currently, lol. It was, once upon a time. Also, I have been surrounded by empty fifths of rum and two-liter bottles of soda, writing fervently. Alcohol is terrible for me, but I often find myself drawn to it. It has both worked out (but never helped) and destroyed much.

Been there with you. Keep the pen moving! 90% of writing is revision!

Oh, how many times I've stared at the computer screen saying, "I never finish this five minutes of writing." lol

Writer's block sucks! Haven't we all been there. I could not even finish a story ofr a halloween contest.
It was good, @frizzy. It succinctly presents character, setting and plot. The tension is even resolved, sadly for the character's goal.

Oh my. Every writer feels like that at some point! You've captured the angst beautifully.

Every writer's worst nightmare. Nicely portrayed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36