Goggles - an entry for the 50 word story challenge by @jayna

in #fiftywords6 years ago

image.jpeg

I'm still not sure whether I was flying or he was really wearing a chewbacca fur coat. The certain thing was the goggles made everything weirder.
"Where the hell did you get these?" I asked, awed by the twisting city lights.
"Nimbin," he replied grinning, "The hippiest town in Oz."

(50 words)

Checkout the challenge here: https://steemit.com/story/@jayna/fifty-word-challenge-results-and-new-writing-prompt
So, the writing prompt here was 'lens' which instantly made me think of an actual encounter I had a while ago at a party where I'd had far too much punch. This guy, in a faux fur coat let me borrow his trippy goggles and stare over the lights of my home city at the suddenly twisty twinkling lights. He did say the goggles came from Nimbin, and later research confirmed that not only is it a port of call for all the 'free spirits' but also a bit of a seedy, heroin washout locale. The world is a fascinating place, and I love it when chance encounters like this one highlight that fact so aptly.

(Image source wikimedia commons: https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Street_Parade_2013_026_(2).jpg)

Sort:  

Haha! I had to giggle at this, simply because I too have heard all sorts of tales that involve Nimbin.

Great teeny story - I love that it's based on actual events! :D

Yeah, interestingly I was chatting to my brother about this and it turns out that he's been there! He was telling me that the cops basically told them not to stay in town as its really dodgy, so he ended up camping out in the middle of nowhere, well past Nimbin.

Ha ha, love it!! Nimbin, this is so Nimbin... Visited this crazy little town when I lived in Australia for a year...

Ah, how did you find it? (As in, what was it like?)

Oh my, I love the kookiness of this! I agree, the world is a fascinating place. So Nimbin is an actual place? It sounds so... I don't know... Narnia-like.

Yup, an actual town in Oz - apparently rather famous for its naughtiness.

Love what you've done in fifty words! Reminds me of Burning Man.

Thanks very much :)

HAHAHAHA I want one of those goggles. Great story!

Am yet to understand fully but now i do as your explanation set things right, that's what happens when you come from a third world country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67