Sort:  

This comment has received a 0.43 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @mahadihasanzim.

Sad, but brutally honest - well done ...

I can relate to @tygertyger comment.

Wow, that is intense! Lots going on.

@dirge, could you please confirm that you have permission to use the image? (See the info about use of images on the challenge post. Thanks!)

hey Jayna.

So the artist is Shibata Zeshin (1807 – 1891). The image originates from the British Museum.
http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=784332&partId=1

The image is released under a creative commons license.
http://www.britishmuseum.org/join_in/using_digital_images/using_digital_images.aspx?asset_id=764844001&objectId=784332&partId=1

I believe that using the image for this constitutes fair use and is not infringing on any copyrights.

I often use old images from authors no long alive, both because I love their work and AFAIK there aren't copyright issues. I don't think Shibata Zeshin would mind (I hope).

This particular image is under the following creative commons license
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/

The only iffy thing is that it is not able to be used for commercial purposes. I don't know if using the image as a cover for a flash fiction story constitutes 'commercial purposes'. The story generates value, but I'm not trying to sell the image. I'm not charging people to see the image. I'm not selling the image and claiming it as my own. I'm not reproducing it and putting it on a t-shirt to sell. I am posting flashfiction that is freely able to be seen and read by the public. I'm not a copyright lawyer. The blockchain isn't a book publisher, so it's a grey area, yes, but I'd argue that I'm not breaking any laws or contradicting the creative commons license.

I've attempted to source the material in my post, which is a requirement for attribution. I'll change the link directly to the british museum.

Anyway, let me know what you think. Thanks.

Thank you for the explanation! And for the due diligence as well. I think since it is under Creative Commons license and as you said you are not reproducing it on mugs or wearables or something, it is fine. The ones I worry about are the ones people grab from various internet sites that do not have CC licensing. Thanks again. It’s a beautiful work of art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66