Lame, a story in 50 words

in #fiftywords5 years ago

IMG_20181028_013339563 (1).jpg


Rudy knew he hadn't the ghost of a chance of actually being chosen, though each Sunday he was paraded with all of the others into the front yard of the shelter, to be viewed, appraised and ultimately rejected. After all, nobody wants to adopt a puppy with a gimpy leg.

Posted in response to @jayna's weekly fifty-word challenge which you can see here
The prompt this week is GHOST

The attempt at drawing is, of course, my own.

Sort:  

Ahhh poor little Rudy. A sad reflection of our perfectionist society. There's always a kind soul to take these little guys in eventually, actually that's probably not true but sometimes there is. My sister in law saved a little Staffy from a shelter about 7 or 8 years ago. He was tiny and his coat was destroyed and let's just say he wasn't a 'looker' but he was one of the nicest dogs I've ever been around. Such a little sweet heart. So sometimes it works out ok for the Rudys of this world :o) Yes, I'm a glass half full kind of guy!

Fair play to your sister in law. I must say in my experience the misfits among us tend to get shit on from a height. But then, I'm a glass half empty kinda gal;)

Ah deirdy tell me this isn’t a true story about the dog with the gimpy leg or il be up to the big smoke to get it .

Posted using Partiko iOS

That doesn't surprise me blanch, you sound like a real sweetie;)

Aw...I will adopt Rudy!

I think I missed my calling as a salesman. I've had 3 takers for Rudy already!

That story's not 'Lame', it's great... sad but great! Very well done!

Cheers and thanks for your sweet comment.

Sometimes I wish I used an auto-voter so I wouldn't have to read a story like this and let's not forget the one last week, with the fox... I'm not over that one yet...

Hahaha, yeah I'm a laugh a minute. It's comedy central in our house!

Oh, my poor thumping heart. I want to take Rudy home! Lovely story, @deirdyweirdy. Have you seen my pet caption contest? I bet you would be good at it. Oh, and your drawing is adorable.

Thanks for the sweet comment and the vote of confidence but unfortunately I haven't quite got the necessary wit for captioning.

That makes two of us! Ha ha. Well it’s a fund-raiser for a pet shelter. So I’m hoping that will inspire pet lovers! 😊

lol. howdy deirdyweirdy! You tryin to get us all emotional? Nothing does that like a puppy! And look at that drawing, that's amazing! lol. You could sell that on Amazon.

Ah Mr J, yer a gas man. I can always depend on ye for an aul giggle

lol! thank you, I try.

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.671 which ranks you at #5384 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87