Empty Stomach (#FiftyWords)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Empty Stomach


balance-scale-tilted-right_925x.jpg


Officer Jenkins stood blocking the only way out, gun in hand, he shouted.

“Hands in the air!”

The little thief complied. A knife, a bag of fruit and tears fell to the ground.

Silence reigned in the alley.

“Go home, kid.” Said Jenkins as he turned his back and left.




Mercy without justice is the mother of dissolution; justice without mercy is cruelty

  • Thomas Aquinas

Since the beginning of civilization mankind has created laws to preserve order and protect the interest of all its members. Nevertheless, I think that a good heart can sometimes be more powerful that everything that society considers right. Deep in our hearts every human craves justice, but justice is not set in stone. It should always be open for transformation. There cannot be justice without mercy or love, we must see pass beyond hate and the desire to see punishment be implemented.

What do you think? Is justice set in stone or it should be indulging under certain circumstances? Let me know in the comments!


This is my entry for this week's #fiftywords. Thanks to its hostess @Jayna. This initiative has motivated me to sit down and write more.

If you'd like to participate check out her post Fifty Words Challenge and remember that this week's prompt is "CHASE"

Image courtesy of Matthew Henry at Burst

Sort:  

Very nice, @deigoam. I love that the officer gave the thief another chance. And I really enjoyed reading your description of that gift of kindness.

Wow, such depth in so few words. Great!

Posted using Partiko Android

The moral dilemmas we face in times of crisis. Sometimes doing what is legal makes you commit injustices. Sometimes ignoring the breaking of a law or social norm is the only way to do justice or at least avoid to contribute to further injury.

Hi, @deigoam,

I really enjoyed and was moved by your story.

Yes, both justice and mercy are important.

But, mercy comes at a price... In this example, mercy cost the merchant his fruit. But I think officer Jenkins may have made the right choice.

Well done!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks! Sometimes the prompt makes things easy for me.

By the way, saw your permanent library! I'm learning my way around it. Seems like a place full of interesting things!

I'm glad you found my library. Enjoy! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56