Walmart, at 3 AM (Fifty Word Short Fiction)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)


This is, duh, the album cover to Iron and Wine's album "The Shepherd's Dog." I thought it fit the piece maybe too well.

Bark, bark.

The parking lot was tombstone quiet, except for some dog, barking off in the distance.

She noticed a shadow, sitting in the front seat of her car.

Bark, bark.

"Hello?"

The shadow didn't stir. It looked through her.

Bark.

She opened her car door and the barking ceased.

~

I hope y'all liked it! This was for @jayna's fifty word story prompt, which you can read about here.

Thanks for reading, good night and God bless!!

Sort:  

This is very mysterious to me. I love it. It seems like dog is throwing its voice. It’s very thought provoking. Nice!

Thank you! I read your prompt and immediately thought "Annoying barking dog" and then "Yellow canary." Like in mine shafts? With more words, I probably could've had a longer scene but still in this parking lot, with a figure in her car and a yellow canary tweeting its face off (not literally to any of that, duh).

And you flatter too much! :PPP

Ha ha! There’s no such thing. 😊

Whatever you saaaaaay :D
Jayna, you're the coolest!!

I enjoyed the fact that you used up quite a few of your words repeating the prompt word. The dog barks. That's what it does. Rarely, if ever, is it a one-shot deal!

Nice job.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks @creatr! I appreciate you too :P

I don't know how I missed this earlier when going through some of the stories. Shame on me.

Definitely mysterious, and a bit frightening even! I liked it a lot :)

Hey! Only I am allowed to bestow shame! No shame is required for this :P
Thanks for reading! You're totally not obligated to though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01