IN THE NIGHT SKY / A Fifty Word Short Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

@miniature-tiger has provided a fifty word short story prompt,“FAIR.” I have many vivid memories county fairs, of being young and the carny atmosphere, so the challenge seemed like it would be fun.

2F4B7F1C-74C5-48C2-B1BC-944631939421.jpeg

In the Night Sky

A strange chartreuse glow expands overhead, then transformers explode and the midway goes black. People scream. The Ferris wheel stops. Below people run to their cars, but their engines are dead. Our seat sways as the glow disappears. Soon cars begin running and linemen flash lights on the damaged transformers.

logo 2.jpg

Sort:  

Nice One! And something very much a possibility when we get eg a cosmic electrical heavy cloud into our atmosphere, or when extra terrestrials (I'm certain about them existing; they may be at the other side of the universe though, don't know if any are kinda close to planet Earth) approach us.

Ya, those et’s will get you, glad you liked the story, have a good day.

These words toke me there and let me lived the moment Fair, and screams .

Fairs are great settings for stories, glad you enjoyed it.

Yes fairs give the stories more magic.

Ohhh FAIR! I thought you would write something about equality haha! This was surprisingly terrifying. I don't what's so unnerving about heights, but they really make my skin crawl. Nice story, man!

Thanks, I wanted to put the narrator in a position of great visibility, a part of the scene but one with a unique vantage point. I wanted to trap him with no means of escape.

Exactly how I like my fiction!

Even with brevity, you have achieved so much. Saying a million things in a few lines.

Thanks, hope you are doing well.

You've captured a lot in those 50 words... Very well written...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67