Benji's Bark

in #fiftywords6 years ago

“Please, boy. I can’t lose you.”

Benji slumped on his side, his black fur matted with blood. Mara crouched over him, weeping.

Rustling came from behind her. Mara spun around. A dark figure lurked in the trees.

Benji’s eyes opened. Footsteps were approaching.

A low bark echoed through the woods.

dog-188273_960_720.jpg

Source
Sort:  

I agree with @jayna, this is mysterious. In a good way. 50 words that produce intrigue, mystery, curiosity. Well done, great story, and great winner for the contest.

Thank you!

This is a very mysterious story, @alheath! I hope the mysterious figure is someone coming to help (since I'm an optimist), but oh I fear much worse. Thanks for your entry in the contest!

Thank you! This is actually going to tie in to a short story I'm doing for the #writers-workout, so you will see.

You created so much suspense in just 50 words. Really great writing.

Thank you!

Well-deserved win @alheath!

Thank you!

Very well done! It reads like a suspense thriller. I have so many questions. What happened to Benji? Who or what is the dark figure? What happens next? When's the next episode? 🙀

Thank you! This is going to tie into a short story I'm writing, so you will see...

Cool! Looking forward to it.

Great job, I really enjoyed this.

Thank you!

Good work conveying so many emotions in just 50 words! Congrats on the contest, definitely top material :)

Thank you!

A lovely written scene @alheath. Congrats on winning the fiftywords!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99