[Fiftywords] Exile Cruise

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Hi everyone, today I have another #fiftywords entry. I decided to stick on the word limit, even though the contest doesn't require the stories to be fifty words anymore.


ztok26aw3z.jpg

This week's prompt is "space." We did this prompt before. Nine months ago, I believe. I wanted to try something different this time, so without spoiling anything, here you go:


Exile Cruise

Day 696:

It has been two years since we left Earth.

We couldn't have expected the damage our ship took.
We barely have enough fuel to reach our destination.

The next moon is our last chance.
We heard that it's safe from the war.

hopefully we're not followed.

-- The Captain.


What do you think?

I tried to the story this time a snippet of a dairy, but also contain all the story elements (conflict, resolution.) I hope I succeeded in that.

I wanted this story to have the mystery and longing of being in space, and I hinted at some galaxy war. I enjoyed writing it so I hope you liked it as well.


Before I go, I want to mention the book I have in Kindle store containing over 15 pages of my fiftyword challenge entries, while they are free on Steemit (if you know where to find them) they're formatted differently in the book:


f44fkmgaxa.png

Check it out Here

For now, have a nice day!
Until next time.


Cover image uses a photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash.

Sort:  

What a beast! It tells a whole chapter of a story in so few words.

That's the power of fifty-words stories and micro-fiction in general! Thanks for reading and commenting.

Well done, @ahmadmanga. Yes, the prompt is recycled! And you will likely see it again someday. Good memory. :-)

I like the captain's log. This is a great take on the prompt!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74