Just like Daddy - A Fifty Words Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

weapon-424772_1280.jpg

Boys want to be like their Dads.

Danny was no different, so when he saw the cabinet unlocked, he seized the opportunity.

He held out the "toy", studying it.

Just as he squeezed the trigger, little Joshua ran in looking for his big brother.

Searing bullet.

Lifeless boy.

Protection, eh??


This was my entry into @jayna's #fiftywords contest. This is a great way to get back into writing, hone your writing skills or just try out writing. We are building a super supportive little community here now under the watchful eye of @jayna. I encourage you to give it a go and be sure to check out as many other stories as you can, leave a comment, upvote them if you like what you have read, support each other.

This week's prompt was danger, see @jayna's page for full details.

The picture I used above is not my own and the source is pixabay - link here

Thanks for reading. Have a great day.

Peace out.

@ablaze

Sort:  

Good story, @ablaze. So true, and it keeps happening.

Thanks a lot @hlezama, I appreciate you stopping by to read and comment..

Great idea and brilliantly executed!

Thanks a mil, and a pun for good measure :o)

Very well done, @ablaze. Like a bicycle helmet worn with the straps hanging down, an unlocked gun cabinet is cosmetic and useless. This story has an excellent and absolutely heartbreaking moral.

Thanks for the kind words of encouragement @jayna... It can be a very contentious, but dialogue is always good..

Yes, there are aspects of gun ownership that are very contentious. I see the moral message of this story as being about safe gun ownership, and I think few people can argue with that.

Thanks a lot, yep that's a good point

Great story. I would have prefered if you chose a different picture though because it made clear to me what the "toy" was before I even started reading. Thank you for sharing this story :)

Thanks a million for stopping by @yoganarchista. You know something, you are right, the picture certainly gave it away, but I was quite struck by the photo and opted to use it for that reason. I agree though, it prob would have worked better with a different less obvious picture... Thanks for the constructive criticism though - much appreciated :o)

Yeah that's brilliant . I am not an anti-gun person , but you summed up the situation very well . Weapons kills and we need to protect our children from them.At all cost

Thanks a lot dude, appreciate the commentary, it breaks my heart when I hear about another tragedy involving guns..

Yeah i get you never had one , but me it's cars for some reason that gets me all worked up

You know something, you are on the ball there... I remember my Mum saying to me that when you go behind the wheel of a car, it is the same as a loaded gun.. You can kill someone just as easily.. It's one of those things that stuck with me, and I try to heed that advise as best I can..

I think I've had trauma in the past, too many people gone too soon because of cars. It's funny because m 5 years old son is obsessed with cars, he knows all the brands by heart, can recognize any cars by shape. Maybe because we don't own one.

Great story, @ablaze. I love it that you wrote about social issues that plague some societies. It is a great way to capture attention and speak to a broader politically charged issue. Great Job!

Thanks for the kind words @pyemoney :o)

Cheers man!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54