Compounded - Fifty Words

in #fiftywords7 years ago

COMPOUNDED

"I have repaid my debt three times over. Be fair!"

"Compound interest my friend.."

He went back to counting his gold shekels.

"Now get out..."

Mr. Lock was shy, but when it came to money, he overcame his unease easily.

He never saw it coming.

Cold steel meets warm flesh.

Gold 2.jpg


That was my attempt to tell a story in just 50 words with the prompt of "Fair"

Thanks for taking the time to read my story - I hope you enjoyed it. You can find some more of my stories here https://steemit.com/@ablaze if you want to drop by

Thanks to @miniature-tiger for her time and effort in running this. Check out her blog and the #fiftywords tag for more.

Image Source

Sort:  

Well done (and nice play on words with 'shylock')!

Thanks @elementm Appreciate the support

This is so challenging! I saw the scene perfectly in my mind and what a cliff hanger! Excellent work in 50 short words!

Thanks for stopping by @wandrnrose7 and for those very kind words, I really enjoy the concept of 50 words and trying to capture a scene in so few words :)

I need to explore that soon! Welcome <3!

You definitely should! :)

Well done @ablaze I will have to try writing a story in 50 words. I'm not sure I can count that high. You know I'm going to upvote a story with gold coins in it. Not fair. 😋

Ha ha @wonderwop Have to follow you, you're hilarious :) Thanks for the comment, you should give #fiftywords a go yourself

That is quite interesting especially considering you had to keep it to 50 words. To be "fair".. compound interest is anything but fair. Intriguing story.

Absolutely right @strypes I think our friend Einstein had it just about right when he said "Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world. He who understands it, earns it ... he who doesn't ... pays it." Thanks for stopping by. I do the #fiftywords thing weekly and another thing called #freewrite most days... Here you have 5 minutes to tell a story, you are against the clock, so not always coherent, but you should drop by and have a look :)

I am old school. I have to think about the "right" word, sentence structure, grammar, punctuation, and things like that. Sometimes it takes me more than five minutes to write a comment. I don't do well with time restrictions, but thank you for the invite. I couldn't even hold this comment to fifty words.
: )

Ha ha, that's fair enough. It's not for everyone. Time can be tricky for me, so #freewrite is a perfect chance to pop in and say a few quick words, check out some other #freewrites, #fiftywords etc..

You just planted 1.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @theleapingkoala

We have planted already 7658.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18430.10
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79