An old man into his body - Freewrite - Short story

in #fiction4 years ago (edited)

adult-1852908_960_720.jpg

old man into his body


When my father got drunk, he'd say, "I had a brother, you know,"- and look him in the eye from afar. His gaze would travel the distance of time and space that crossed in a second of imagination.

I never met a brother, but whenever he had alcohol in his brain, I saw him with those eyes full of soul. If that had been true, I think I would have loved that guy who played in puddles and bragged about his stains.

And, Dad insisted, "I never saw anyone in less of a hurry to grow up, or in less of a hurry to get there." His voice resounded in an eternal today. Now I understand that we are young, as long as we have a yearning to blossom and a dream to fly, without destiny feeling that we've already understood what it's all about and achieved what we dreamed of.

(End of five minutes)

"We will never be more than that unless we let the train derail us and take away the most precious thing we have: life. This life that we are shelling like an eternal ear of corn and that is only an instant lived with the intensity we give it, fighting the cold with kisses, because there is so much to kiss", - and he kissed my forehead as if he were kissing his own life.

"Before I die I want to fall in love with my age, because I only have this vulnerable heart - he would touch his chest with such drama that it made me shed tears, feeling his emotion of arriving at the celebration of a goal, at the fulfillment of a challenge - "If I don't water it with desires and dreams, it will die of sorrow in a corner. The youth leaves when you feel you've gotten where you need to go: Piss on the edge of the abyss, never forget yourself. Skid, and if you fall, you get up, dust yourself off and laugh, that's the best laugh."

Unwittingly, my heart was wrinkled at the thought that, although he was performing a ritual by playing his role very drunk, he was reaching another age. And, strangely enough, I feel that I witnessed the very moment when my father let an old man into his body.

tree-97986_960_720.jpg






By Zeleira Cordero @zeleiracordero

02/01/2020

Opening this 2020 with many dreams and desires to continue in the air, I wish that we all have a blessed journey.

In response to the @mariannawest Day 804: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: we are young. If you're interested, find out here

3W72119s5BjWMGm4Xa2MvD5AT2bJsSA8F9WeC71v1s1fKfGkK9mMKuc3LcvF4KigbWg9UsrpEPYxTr4WGgaUSihti5BNBEckQ7HdLtG4iQE6gKp8YDu56v.png

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN1PQgViot4mXnFaUEw34.png
W5LtFUPm6g7111bbdcuxu3bfUg5qaCq8seb5paCtrrT7zPfNetNRQ79DUGNwEEZAQy8KYkKi5thzu74ryAdHnZ2kyUGEs2QeEytWBiKpXcZtjFTFKEP9ciY8cpmBgmCr8Ffxjo6FDGyTLHwfB9b7ScQ8nAWVc.png
54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcVPfx44K7xRUd5vMkWY2saHAxxvC2MBNPiioRKkk7ATX4VBqQBi59hpRU4KXRvFH9E6DRi5AdxZSanJrfDHF1wjPi3ok.jpg

Images are from Pixabay:

Adult by Pexels
Tree by Geralt

Banner Freewritehouse credit by @mariannawest.
Banner Mizu no oto and finish the story, credit by @f3nix of the tribe @bananafish.
Separators:
Cat
Simplemente Gracias

For your kind reading, simply THANK YOU




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://egalitarian-force.000webhostapp.com/2020/01/an-old-man-into-his-body-freewrite-short-story

Sort:  

I always amazed at how much people love their relatives. Finding all kinds of amazing qualities in them. My relatives somehow were very regular people. There was nothing special about them. They had souls, of course, but their souls were.. oh how should one say it softly, boring.

When my paternal grandfather died I was about 7 years old. He had money and was able to arrange a decent funeral for himself. I remember him laying in the good looking coffin covered with crocheted and embroidered velvet material. The orchestra played the special funeral march

tam, tam, tattam, tam, tata-tat-tatam tam,
tam, tam, tattam, tam, tata-tat-tatam tam,

It was early spring, the snow only began to melt and there was something especially warm and wonderful in the air.

I noticed on his nose there was a large and fat looking blackhead. My hands were itching to squeeze it. But understanding solemnity of the moment, I held myself.
I told my mom about it. She only made big eyes at me and put her finger to her lips "Zip it!" )))

Hahahahaha... Really? You are an exceptional human being, dear sir. A strange and not at all boring character. Any pencil can be sharpened for you!

Thank you! )))

WOW! so much beautiful language in this!
I understand that we are young, as long as we have a yearning to blossom and a dream to fly
And this killer last line
I feel that I witnessed the very moment when my father let an old man into his body.
The old man entered his body at the moment those wise words became a mere platitude for him, they lost their meaning, and he lost his then too. Freaking incredible piece. Thank you.

So many great lines - this, e.g.,
This life that we are shelling like an eternal ear of corn and that is only an instant lived with the intensity we give it, fighting the cold with kisses, because there is so much to kiss" -- wow! Beautiful story with a killer final line!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72