A BIRD FELL (EPISODE 3)

in #fiction6 years ago

Collins has always aimed for number one. All his life he had pursued one singular goal; to come out on top. He had bribed, connived, blackmailed and manipulated his way through school to get a degree and through some of his connections; he had been able to land a job with his present employers.

The pay wasn’t great but the commissions that came through from getting deals through were great and with his ability to maneuver through the streets of Warri, understanding what made the town tick, knowing when to strike, he had been able to make some great deals that had gotten him to the top management position in the Warri branch of his firm but he was not satisfied.


frustration-1241534_1280.jpg
pixabay: SolGar


He hated Warri. He wanted out. He wanted to be free from the stain of growing up in a backwater town, a place derided by other parts of the country for being dependent on crude oil revenue even when the revenue never did much to grow the place. He had a plan and this deal was going to get him all that he needed to get out of Warri. He smiled as he perused the documents before him.

A knock sounded on his office door and he raised his head and stared at it then he asked the person to open. The door opened and the heaving mammary of Sola, the secretary to Mr. Banikoro, the former accountant, entered the office first before her over made-up face entered.

Collins grimaced at the sight of her face and wondered what it would be like to have a go at the lady. He would have to do it in the darkness. Her face would definitely kill the pleasure but her body! Damn! That was something else entirely. He smiled at his thoughts and didn’t hear a thing the lady said until he heard “laptop, file and Banikoro”

“What!” he asked.

“Mr Banikoro left without his laptop.” Sola said.

“Is that why you came to bother me? Is something wrong with you? I thought I heard something about a file?” Collins asked, irritated by the lady’s overzealousness.

“Sir, apart from that, the papers on the Okapa Land deal that was sent to all the senior management staff for assent were not on his table, rather I found his daughter’s exam answer sheets on the table. I think he carried the documents home sir.” She replied, unperturbed by his outburst.

Collins stared at her breasts for several seconds then stood up and walked to the window. What would he want with those documents? Is he trying to sabotage the deal? Does he know what is at stake? Is he still intent on carrying out the audit? I will not let any nincompoop spoil my plans. Never! I know what to do. He turned to the huge mammary and nodded his head.

“Don’t worry, I will take care of it. He is my friend. I will go to his house this evening after work and retrieve the documents. You can drop his daughter’s exam answer sheets here. I will take it to him.” he replied.

“He also left his official car keys on the desk.” She added.

“Thank you Sola, drop them on the table.” He replied.

Sola nodded and dropped the laptop, keys and the file on the table then turned and left the office. Collins stared at the memory of her round hefty buttocks and undulating waist then he sighed and sat down back on his chair.


Patience entered the bar and met it empty. She turned around and stopped on seeing a hefty and broad chested man frowning at her. A toothpick twirled between his big, nicotine blackened lips as he stared at her breasts without hiding it. She moved back towards the entrance, her palms suddenly wet.
“Erm, excuse me I am looking for my husband.” She said.

“Every woman comes here to look for their husbands at first but they stay for other reasons.” The man replied, smiling, his brown teeth glinting in the light.

Patience swallowed. The man’s smile made him even more terrifying than when he frowned.

“I don’t understand you sir. I just want my husband. I got a call from a girl saying that he was here. Please where is he?” she asked, turning around to look around the bar.

The man took a step towards her, still smiling. Patience moved back.

“Don’t be like that. I know you want some of this. You married women are not getting as much as you need. Come I know a place where we can get down and I will dig you really deep. My friends call me Mr Dee.” The man said, still smiling.

Patience grimaced in distaste and a sudden sound made her turn. Another man had entered the bar from a hidden door.

“Dee, why are you terrifying the woman? Is that what I pay you for?” the newcomer asked.

Mr Dee frowned at the man then turned to her and smiled and winked then he turned and left the bar.

“Good afternoon madam. Please ignore the oaf. He is one of my bouncers and sometimes he thinks himself a lady’s man. This is my bar, how can I be of help to you?” he asked.

“Ha thank God! Some sanity finally. I am looking for my husband. A girl called me and asked me to meet him here.” She replied.

Big Ben smiled.

“You look even prettier than your picture suggests. Please, please come into my office. He is in here.” He replied.

Patience smiled and followed the man into the gloom of the office. As she entered the office, her phone began to ring. She looked at it. It was Collins. What did he want now? This was wrong timing. She ended the call and turned to see the owner of the bar staring at her with a question in his eyes. She smiled.


Collins groaned in frustration and dialed Patience's number again but a cultured voice informed him that the line had been switched off. He sighed and tapped his phone on the table. He needed to get those documents off Boma’s hands as soon as possible before things go wrong. He stopped the tapping, unlocked his phone and began to scroll through numbers. He found one and dialed.

“Chief good afternoon sir.” He said.

“Yes Collins, what is it? Do you have good news for me?” the voice on the other end asked.

“well yes and no sir.” He said slowly.

“your ineptitude is starting to irritate me, young man. It seems you are not as ambitious as I thought. I can get another to get this thing done.” The voice replied.

“Ha! No sir! I am capable sir. I have been able to get Mr Banikoro out of the firm. He was relieved of his position today with immediate effect.” He replied quickly.

“Then why are we having this conversation?” the voice replied.

“He took a copy of the land deal document with him sir.” Collins replied, wiping sweat from his brow with a pearly white handkerchief.

“I see.” The voice said and the call ended.

“Hello sir, sir?” Collins jumped up from his seat, picked his suitcase and the things dropped by Sola and ran out of his office. Chief was not a man to play with. He needed to fix this fast.


Stay Tuned for Episode 4.

Previously on the series,

Episode 1
Episode 2

©warpedpoetic, 2019

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.913 which ranks you at #4106 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 79 places in the last three days (old rank 4027).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #188.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75