You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini writing workshop: Who are you writing for?

in #fiction6 years ago

Again an interesting post. I think for each book their will be an audience.

To be honest the biggest part of the books being published by mainstream publishers are not perfect at all nor free of type or grammatical failures. I wonder how that can be.

There are many stories/books I find boring or hard to read because there are so many difficult words are used it makes it hard to follow what the story is about.
I notice the same here at steem. I do find that a pity.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I agree, @wakeupkitty. Even in the published world there are imperfect works. But the fact is, getting attention from a publisher is incredibly difficult to do. The odds are stacked against you. So, if your goal is to be published by a mainstream book publisher, it is important to make the work as close to perfect as possible. I'm honestly not sure why books that are not really well written get published, but I can imagine that publishers lower their standards from time to time out of desperation when they have not landed a really great title.

I read that they seem to care way less if the writer is a VIP... it will sell anyway..By now there are so many ways to publish yourself I doubt if mainstream publisher still will be able to survive.

Lately I read some books (translations) published by Bruna a famous publisher. I was shocked by the way the books looked like. It was translated in a poor way and full of mistakes. Hard to believe someone did read it before publishing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I worry about their survival too. But the fact is, I hang out with a lot of readers and there are wait lists at the libraries for the best books. Reviews and social media do help to keep the quality issues in check to a large degree. Also the fact that Audible is doing so well and that Amazon purchased them gives me hope. Self-publishing has flooded the market, but the big name publishers still hold the keys to the kingdom, I think. Great discussion!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62