[Fiction] | A Day to Remember | Part 1 | @vinyprop (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

Part-1: Anticipation


Anticipation.jpg


The memory of it all is so fresh on my mind that it almost feels like a thing from yesterday. The year 2012 had lived half of its life and the month of July had brought a spring in my stride. This was the most anticipated July of my lifetime, till then, as this month hadn’t come empty handed. It had a few gifts for me, for which I was eagerly waiting, since the month of March.

I had just finished celebrating my 3rd work anniversary with the organization I was working with, back then. It was a software services MNC, having clients from across the world, and the client I was working for was from the United Kingdom. Having spent day & night to make a name for myself at the workplace, I had forgotten to live my life.

Get up on the first ring of the alarm at 5.30 AM to quickly get dressed and run towards the bus stop to board the office shuttle at 6.30 AM, as a minute’s delay would leave me with no option but to take a public transport and an excruciatingly painful 2 hours journey to the office. Somehow after managing to reach office, I would slog there next 9 hours before starting my 2 hours journey, back home. By the time I get back home, the clock would have ticked pass 9 PM and I would spend a few minutes with my family, before I hit the bed to ensure that I get up on time the next day to start and repeat my day all over again.

And this is how I spent my first 3 years of my processional life, to establish myself in the workplace. I wasn’t doing it for charity of course, but there was something more than the salary which kept me luring towards it. And it was the opportunity to be deputed at the client’s location. It was that one luring factor which kept us all, which includes myself and all my fellow team members, going.

There was an unwritten rule in my organisation, which said that once you work your soul off for 3 years or more, you might be considered for the client location transfers. As I had already ticked all the required checkboxes, which were laid out before us by the management, I was now fairly optimistic & hopeful of getting a chance I was eagerly waiting for, from the day I had joined the organisation.

Whole of my day would you go on refreshing my mailbox, in anticipation of a mail from my manager, which would ask me to raise my work permit for the UK, and that how two weeks passed but no such mail landed into my mailbox. The spring in my stride had slowly started dying a little and the optimism begun cutting corners. Until that call from my manager, while I was travelling back from office that night, which changed everything.

Finally the phone call from my manager brought the much awaited news to me. I was asked to initiate the visa formalities as a new project needed an urgent resource placement at client’s site in the next 15 days. ”You will have to finish all your Visa formalities as soon as possible, so that we can arrange for the tickets for you.” Said my manager over the phone. These weren’t words, this was music to my ears, as ultimately, after so much of wait, my ears were hearing something that they wanted to hear from a long long time.

The next day at office I carried all the necessary documentations and filled the 10 pager Visa application, without a frown. Had it been anything other than the visa form, I do not know how frustrated I would have been to fill in so many details. But the happiness to go and stay in the UK was far more than the pain of filling a Visa form for it. Within the next few days, all necessary documents were verified by the internal Visa processing team and I was sent to attend the mandatory biometric process.


End of Part-1


Would you please follow me @vinyprop and upvote, if I tell you that I publish a new post every single day?


@vinyprop.jpg


Sort:  

@vinyprop, I can relate to all the events you have described in the post, I am sure most of the IT professionals would. Hardwork and perseverance would lead to success. Waiting to read more, some twist in the tale 😋.

This is the story of every IT professional, eachone awaits for that opportunity but very few are the lucky. This inspires the person to work hard for the company, whats next as i also want to be the pary of this journey.

Hey @vinyprop, isn't it a story of every person!!
We all have something to achieve in life. Aren't we all running towards it with all we have?
And in my opinion an objective is necessary in everyone's lives as it motivates us to push the envelope and break the barriers which we create in our minds for ourselves. Anticipation for something special keeps us all engaged in our day to day lives.
Just giving an example of Christmas eve when we all anticipate for our favourite gifts from Santa Claus.
DON'T WE?! 🙈

Oh yes absolutely.. Anticipation keeps us fueled up for our daily chores. :)

hello @vinyprop I can totally relate to this article ..we all have our big dreams ..and we work hard towards them ..sometimes we fail but we should not stop working towards them ...our hard work leads to anticipation ..which is positive thinking ...great article 👌🏻👌🏻

Thank you for the encouraging words @nehachauhan. :)

Such a wonderful feeling to reach an important goal! Great described and written.

Thank you so much @kerlund74, for your kind works. Peace..!! ☺️☺️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vinyprop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54