Sort:  

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @viking-ventures

We have planted already 3566.63 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 29471.46
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Wow that is a process. With so many characters, I can imagine losing track. I lose track of topics and posts.
You are as organized as I thought you were. I figured you had to be. Be writing and curating, plus you own postings I knew you had to have something in place. Very smart 😃

I can imagine that JK Rowling did something similar. I'm aware that she wrote out many lineages fairly early on. Of course, she didn't use multiple locations quite in the same way - but still, she had to bring in a few new characters in each book...

I'm glad to have a good writing day today - 5000 words thus far, makes up for a non-writing day on Monday. I also need to plan a day for developing the biomes for a couple of my countries including the Yezi Desert - which I'm writing about right now.

With her she said many times while she was on the train, any scrap of paper, napkin etc she would put down her ideas. I don't recall her mentioning what she did after that. I would imagine she had her secretary do the same thing.

Oh yeah, building a biome/world is as important. Some authors completely depend on it. If you look at George RR Martin's books. He includes as much detail about his world as he does his characters. I would be interesting to see how he sets his up.

One of my friends, he actually does character biographies. Puts them all into a spreadsheet then clicks on the character and has the full write up. I jokingly asked him if he counts that as part of his words per day

I remember Joanna (I think that's what the J is) saying something about being in coffee shops too - and yes, writing on a napkin. When she was writing to begin with, she was a single mother with very little money to her name - similar to me until this past year - though we are still poor, lol. So, I think it was awhile before she had a secretary to do all that for her.

I love George RR Martin's writing. I actually didn't pick up any of his stuff or watch the shows (I was turned off by the title to begin with) until I found a graphic novel of it in the library. Impressed, I started reading the books as well. I just love it. Despite the fact he's so rough with his characters, I appreciate that nothing is too sacred or taboo with him!

Whole biographies are definitely too much for me when I have 195 characters (as of this morning) to deal with... I write down what seems relevant - enough to keep the character consistent. Then, if something surprises me later, it's okay. Like this morning, I finally worked out why Moxara (the maqla in Ocean of Empathy) was still single... it will feature in another story in addition to her eventual romance. :-) (Giving away too many spoilers already...)

Yeah, those really would feel like they should count towards the words per day. I figure that as long as I average above what I share in daily chapters, I'm gaining. :-) (But the only words I count are the ones that are in a story - though I am nice enough to not negatively count plot that's deleted...)

No spoilers!! I am glad she took the chance and let her creativity be her outlet. I think the books are wonderful. She's even said she's created such a universe she could write for years about other characters and never come back to Harry, Ron and Hermione.

I read Martin's books well before the series came out. Still waiting on book 6 as I was when the series started. What makes him different for me is the amount of detail he puts into just about everything and then his chapter construct. I was afraid of when he finally agreed to turn the show into a series due to the amount of detail of the environment. I have to say I was amazed a lot of it kept the vision in the books. I watched up to Season 4 afraid to go on any further, because of books not yet written. So much is different and so much left out. I don't want my reading experience to be spoiled by the show.

I agree 195 characters are too many sheets. He does start them when he creates a new character so it starts off easy enough. I do think if you wrote plot lines that didn't work out it should count as words, but I see your point too.

Yes! Agreeing with Joanna again! That was the reason I created my world the way I did - so that it could handle (almost) anything I could ever wish to write. I do have some Earth-based plots still, but most can be tied into Terrenden some way or other. (I recently worked out why it's named Terrenden as well - but that's for another legend!) The first legend will be shared at the beginning of my next story - scheduled for the end of this month...

It's hard to know what to do when the series out-paces the books. I read the first 4 of Martin's books, started the fifth and sort of lost it there. I think his way of splitting the book didn't work for me.

The non-working plot lines counted when they were written. So does the new plot line... When I have to delete, I just readjust the word count when I'm done... though sometimes, I have to delete as I go, so some things don't get counted, perhaps.

My goal is 1100-1500 words daily - about the length I end up sharing here daily. If I write more, it's a day or two that I don't have to be perfect - or can work on something else. Most of the flora/fauna I have now, I drew and described in the year that I was offline (2016) - but it's definitely time to do more.

Well I think you're halfway to that goal with this conversation LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52