[Fiction] Doctor or Engineer | @vidyabanjan OriginalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

DoctorEngineer.jpg


“Doctor” or “Engineer”, these questions keep on coming back like a rebounding ball, this time the question is not to me, but about my son!

Yeah he is only a 10 year old boy today. Blimey, he is just a 10 yr old. Since we all exist now in a very competitive world, these questions generally will come to your mind or popped to you by an odd relative, the moment you would have declared there is a baby whom you will bring to this world in a few months. Taking this question to my heart and soul, I keep wondering what would I make my son, how do I convert this already pressurized, stressed confused soul into some kind of prodigy.
Hmmm doctor, engineer, architect, cricketer, banker, now there is a whole lot of professions that exists out in the world.

I settled down on my already punctured bean bag, and started thinking like Einstein would have thought about his famous “EMC square” equation and then, like a lightening it struck to me. I exactly now knew, what I wanted him to be!

He would pick any profession he wanted, it would be his choice. But as a mother, I would want him to be a person, who is self sufficient, reliable, as much honest he could be, kind, giving, a one who understands “Sharing is caring”, understands that goodness is a choice he will need to make, empathetic, he doesn't need to be a problem solver, but a good listener. He understands that to fail is OK, but not to repeat mistakes, respects the other gender, they too came out from the similar place he did, so there is nothing so extra special about him being a boy.

He understands family means staying together, being together, loving each other in all ups and downs, not to use the word “busy” when his loved ones need him, it's better to give them a first aid than to visit them in an ICU, and to take care of himself. He needs to understand that loving others is an extension of himself and to believe in himself and the supreme power that has created this universe. I think if this much he understands and appreciates, his appraisal with God would go really well.

Somebody once walked to me and asked what is the legacy you would want to pass on to your blood and now I know what exactly I want him to carry as he progresses in his life. A successful professional and a successful human being. Now I could feel my bean bag lowering down to one more level, a heavy weight sitting on it with such heavy thoughts, it didn't have a choice, I pity it though.


Please upvote & follow me @vidyabanjan.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95