Flash Fiction: The Lost Scarf

in #fiction6 years ago

A story in 300 words.

Being a salesperson must be an interesting and varied job. Imagine getting to see the insides of so many people’s houses. Just for a moment, mind. Each visit gives you a snapshot of life as it currently stands for that particular family. But what happens when you go back to visit the same family twice, and find things grievously different on your second visit?

The Lost Scarf

The maroon door was as worn as I remembered, paint flaking and the knocker dull. The young man answered quickly. To my surprise, his ready smile was absent. Dark circles lurked under eyes that were swollen and red.

“Hi, I was here just the other day…”

He nodded “I remember you.” He seemed to have difficulty swallowing. “Thank you for the bible.”

“You’re welcome! Just doing my job. Listen, I think I left my scarf here.”

The young man stared at the ground.

It’s lilac,” I prompted. “Made of lambswool.”

At the mention of the colour, a strange look came over his face. He hesitated for a moment. “You’d better come in.”


On the last visit, my sales pitch had been disturbed by the incessant cries of a newborn baby. This time the room was still and peaceful. The young man’s wife sat by the cosy fire, bent over a swaddled bundle that lay on her lap.

“Good morning!” I greeted her. “I do hope you’re well. I think I left my scarf here. It’s lilac. An unusual colour for a man, I know, but my wife…”

The rest of my sentence vanished as the young woman looked up. Her eyes were hollow voids, ringed in red.

She gripped the tiny, lilac bundle as if she would never let it go.


By the time I arrived home, I had my story ready.

“Darling, I donated it.”

“Donated!”

“Yes my love. Oh, you know how I cherished your gift. But Mary, the family I visited was desperately in need. They didn’t even have swaddling for the baby.”

“Oh Derek!” The melting look in her eyes told me everything.

I knew she was imagining how adorable a baby would look wrapped in that soft lambswool.

I let her keep the unpolluted image.



This is an original post written for Steemit by @Victoria-Kelly Thanks for reading!

Read more of my flash fiction here: The Touring Exhibition

You can also follow me on Facebook or Twitter or join my Mailing List

Image from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34