Let Your Yes Be Yes And No Be No

in #fiction7 years ago

image

I can't ever forget that funny but unique incidence, the whole school compound was quiet, everybody was sombre as usual, all discussions were in hush tones, sometimes you wonder if it's the same school whose activities a week ago looked as if they were in Laudasian age are the same that now maintains near graveyard silence. That's what examination can do in the life of students.

We were in form four doing promotion exams to form five, we had two papers on that fateful day,mathematics (my worst subject) in the morning and English (my best subject) in the afternoon. It was afternoon session and we were deep in works when all of sudden a boy stood up grabbed his colleagues answer sheet tore it up, took his own too, tore it up, beckoned to the invigilator and said "excuse me sir we are cheating". You can imagine the thunderous laughter that came out of a dead silence.

The invigilator (a teacher himself) was taken aback, he said, "you say what" I said myself and this boy (pointing to his colleague) were cheating Sir. Ah ha, how? See Sir, the boy began, we both had an agreement that we will share knowledge, that we shall show ourselves our answer sheet, so, in the morning I showed him my own paper because I am better in maths but he that's better in English refused to show me his own paper now.

Wow, the whole thing was now getting interesting, invigilator looked towards the second boy and asked, is that true? He couldn't answer, so both of you agreed to cheat abi? Again words failed him. Then the invigilator cleared his throat and asked again, did he actually showed you his answer sheet in the morning as claimed? He nodded in the affirmative. Okay, although both of you had entered an unholy alliance, only one of you had fulfilled his own part of the deal, I want all of you to know that you are not in school only to learn books but morals too, why will you enter an agreement and not fulfill it, the guilty boy whispered "I was scared Sir "oh but you weren't scared in the morning when he showed you his

James 5 vs 12 summed it all up, you don't have to swear, just let your YES be YES and your NO be NO.

image

Image 1

Sort:  

Yes my yes is yes. Good post

Interesting! Our yes can only be yes and our no same when we've placed everything at its rightful place.

The little experience is captivating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55