The Strings of Fate and Fortune: The Takuma Sato Story: Chapter 2

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Sato.jpg

Takuma Sato sits on a bench inside the Luxor hotel arena’s male locker room. He has a white towel over his head as he stares down at the ground. Sweat drips down from his forehead to the floor as his new manager Ivan Stricker walks up to him with a pleased look on his face. It’s only been 10 minutes since his first U.O.W victory but already Sticker is talking championship aspirations for his young client.

Ivan Stricker: You did a fucking hell of a job out their kid! I never thought you’d be able to pull it off lacking a real wrestling background, but that karate shit works! You laid into that Kickstand goon good!

Sato lifts his head stares at his manager puzzled by his ignorance in his fighting style.

Takuma Sato: Tae Kwon Do….

Ivan Stricker: Whatever… As I said, you proved yourself and your fighting style out their tonight. You’re a force to be reckoned with now and there isn’t a man or woman on this roster that won’t take a fight with you serious from here on out! I mean kid, you are two matches away from winning the Franchise championship! You’re the Cinderella story of this tournament and I plan to use that to our advantage! I’ve already called for a press conference tomorrow night here at the stadium. I want the whole world to know about Takuma Sato and his honorable quest to save his mother’s home. The media will go crazy over a story like that!

Takuma Sato shakes his head frustrated with the thought of having to share his personal life with the rest of the world. He pulls the towel off of his head and then looks straight at Ivan while squinting his eyes.

Takuma Sato: Where is the money, Ivan? I need to wire it to my mother tomorrow morning if she is going to have any time to make the payment we owe to Lightning Loans in time.

Ivan Stricker hands Sato an envelope before giving him a pat on the back. It’s clear that he very proud of what Sato accomplished.

Ivan Stricker: That’s the whole $5’000 right there my friend. I didn’t take my cut this week for a management fee. I know your family needs the money and you need a little bit of cash for yourself so you can find a place to rent around here. I hope you take it as a sign of good faith and keep me around as your manager. I believe you’re the next big thing to hit this sport kid.

Takuma stands up and gives Ivan a hug before shaking his hand. It clear that a big weight has been lifted from his shoulders. That stress of what had transpired before he left Detroit constantly at the forefront of his mind.

Takuma Sato: Thank you, Mr. Stricker. You’ve already helped me more than you can ever know. I’m lucky my father had such a great connection to such a caring person.

Ivan Stricker: Just hang in there Sato… the next to matches pay out $30’000 each if you win and $10’000 just for showing up. From what your father told me, that should cover the loan he took out against your families’ house in Detroit.)

Takuma Sato: Well then I just have to win then…

Scene fades to black.

The scene opens back up early the following morning on a bright sunny August day where we see Takuma Sato at a Western Union. Sato has just finished up wiring $4’000 U.S. dollars to his mother in Detroit and he is currently on the phone with his furiously angry mother.

Meiko Sato: How dare you leave home without telling me! I was worried sick about you!

Takuma Sato: I apologize mother, but it was the only way I could save us from ending up on the street. I just sent you 4’000 dollars which should be enough to cover our next loan payment and allow you to pay the rest of the bills.

Meiko Sato: Takuma, I don’t want you fighting and risking your health for our home. Please come home and we will find another way to pay back the money we owe to Lightning Loans.

Takuma Sato: I’m sorry mother. I can’t do that, I’m staying here in Las Vegas for the foreseeable future. This first match has rekindled my desire for the sport of combat and I intend to use my “talents” to ensure we never have financial problems again. It’s time we cashed in on father’s grueling training.

Meiko Sato: …. Just please promise me you’ll come and visit me soon.

Takuma Sato: I will mother, don’t worry, you will see that this is not only for the best, but our only option at this moment in time. I’m 19 years old, it’s time I became a man and made my way into this world.

Takuma ends the call on his ancient flip phone before walking outside of the Western Union. Ivan Stricker is waiting for him in front of the building leaning up against a parked white 1987 Chrysler Lebaron convertible. The vehicle looks near mint and well taken care of and stands out amongst the other vehicles parked around it. It’s obvious that Ivan takes great pride in his automobile.

Ivan Stricker: Everything okay?

Sato nods assertively and hops into the front passenger side seat of the vehicle without even opening the door. Ivan opens his door and steps inside the car before firing up the old 2.5-liter Turbo Charged engine. As Ivan pulls out into traffic the two begin to spark up a conversation.

Takuma Sato: So what kind of a place do you think I can rent with a thousand dollars?

Ivan Stricker: Vegas isn’t exactly the cheapest city in America to live in kid. I’m sure rent prices are going to seem quite a bit higher than what you’re used to in Detroit. I’m not going to lie to you it’s going to be a rough community outside of the strip but keep in mind it’s only temporary. I’m setting you up over in old north Vegas and I got a few places lined up for us to see at around $850 dollars a month. It should leave you with enough money to buy some groceries so you can keep your strength up for your next match against Jerimiah Vastrix

Takuma Sato: Alright… sounds like a plan. I’m not really worried about how crap of an area it is. Keep in mind I’m from the most dangerous city in America, so I’m used to this type of environment.

Ivan Stricker: I never really thought about it but probably nothing I’ll show you today will shock you in the slightest. Sorry, no offense Takuma…

Takuma Sato: No offense taken Ivan, times are tough and Detroit is an example of what this country has to look forward too if our leaders continue to take us down the path that we're on. Maybe one day I’ll take you there when we’ve cleared this family debt of mine.

Ivan Stricker: I’d like that, I’ve always felt to truly understand this world and grow as a person you need to travel and see how other people live their lives.

Sato smiles and nods his head.

Takuma Sato: Wise words indeed.

A few hours later we see the Labaron pull up to a rundown looking house in an extremely rough looking neighborhood. Many of the houses have graffiti on them or have been burned slightly from fires set by an arsonist and seem deserted. Sato and Ivan exit his vehicle and make their way up to a small house where an old Hispanic woman stands waiting to show them the house. After exchanging pleasantries she brings them into the run-down old house. The small house is in poor shape and had been neglected for many years. Ivan assures Sato that for the price he won’t be able to find anything better. After signing a month to month lease and parting ways with the landlord, Ivan Stricker pops open the trunk of his car and hands, Sato, a sleeping bag. The scene ends with the two partners saying goodbye and Sato entering his new home away from home.

The scene flashes forward to the next day at Luxor hotel lobby. A cluster of sports reporters from MOX Sports and the Vegas Times are huddled in together to try to get good seating to get their questions answered. Eventually, after a few minutes Ivan Stricker walks up to a wooden podium and speaks to the crowd assembled.

Ivan Stricker: I’ve arranged this press conference tonight because I believe I have come across a talent that is very unique and has a story worth telling the American people. So without further delay, I’d like to welcome Takuma Sato to the stage.)

Sato’s entrance music begins to play and he makes his way to the podium. The young 19-year old seems hesitant to speak into the large microphone at first but eventually starts to address the media after pulling out a notecard and overcoming his wariness.

Takuma Sato: I joined the Ultimate Wrestling Federation for one reason and one reason only and that was to pay a debt my family owes. My reasons were strictly financial and I had never fought in a wrestling ring before last week. However, fighting competitively for the first time in over two years has sparked my desire to pursue a livelihood in the sport of professional fighting. So with that said I’d like to open the forum for any questions you all may have.

The reporters begin firing questions rapid-fire and Sato tries to keep up with them.

Reporter # 1: Takuma, is it true that your father took his own life before you coming to Last Vegas to compete in the Tournament of Fortune?

Takuma Sato: My father was an honorable man! He attempted to open a school for martial art’s training in Detroit to help underprivileged children and we went bankrupt due to the economic collapse of the city. He was a good man who loved the city of Detroit and this country and sadly they let him down. So to answer your extremely personal question… yes, my father committed Seppuku.

Reporter # 1: Seppuku?

Takuma Sato: Hai, It was an honor suicide. It’s not something I would expect someone without a Japanese background to understand. My father wished to escape the shame of his financial shortcomings and disgracing his family. It was a tragedy and I will miss my father greatly…I dedicate my performance last week to him.

Reporter # 2: Sato what is it about your heart punch that makes it so unique and powerful?

Takuma Sato: over many years of dedicated meditation training I have learned to harness my body’s chakra energies. This ability has allowed me to focus that Chakra into one part of my body which I can unleash with deadly force. Only the most skilled fighters can I achieve this through immense concentration.

Reporter # 3: You want us to believe that hippie yoga bullshit? Come on man, tell us the truth!

The reporters all start to laugh and Sato continues to grow more uncomfortable and agitated at the podium. The reporters seem to have no respect or care for his wellbeing and are only there for a good story to help boost ratings and sales.

Reporter # 1: Sato is it true that you’re broke and currently homeless?

Takuma Sato: Yes, I was up until yesterday. I’ve just moved into a rental house and will be working to pay off my father’s debt off and put food on my plate at the same time. These are difficult times we live in and I, like many Americans, have been struggling to get by and make ends meet.

Reporter # 2: Do you feel cheated by your financial woes?

Takuma Sato: We can’t help the financial class we are born in or the debts we inherit from our parents. All we can do is continue to fight and do the right thing. We as American citizens have been put in a difficult place by our government and there are corrupt forces that continue to allow for congress and government officials to work in the best interest of Corporations and not the people. So we the people must work together to change the government and to help each other in our times of need. I want to be a positive example to this state and to the rest of the country.

Reporter # 3: How do you think you will fair against Vastrix this week in the tournament?

Takuma Sato: I plan to bring everything I have to beat Jerimiah because I desperately need the prize money. Winning this match will allow me to fully pay off the debt my father owes to that corrupt garbage mortgage lender Lightning Loans! As of right now, I am in a win at all cost situation and I can’t make a mistake. Mark my words I will be firing on all cylinders when I enter that ring this Wednesday. Vastrix better be ready because I plan to give him one heart-stopping fight if you catch my drift…

Ivan walks over and cuts Takuma off and brings the press conference to a close.

Ivan Stricker: I’m sorry ladies and gentlemen but my fighter needs time to rest and train for his match.

Takuma’s music begins to play as both Ivan and Takuma walk off the stage. The scene fades to black with the reporters leaving as they talk among themselves. In the background, you can see Stricker apologizing to Sato for the reporter's offensive tone.

Sort:  

Hi! You may be interested in a new project that has been started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [Reward Share and 200 SP Delegated][August 2017 Signups] If you choose to participate please mention that @robertvogt referred the Minnows Accelerator Project to you. Cheers!

Ok thank you for the offer.

Congratulations @ultimatewrestlin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50