Dry Spell, Part 3

in #fiction7 years ago

If you missed the beginning of Annie and Muxx's story, you can find it here:
Part 1
Part 2

“Ding ding.” Annie looked up from her ancient-looking book at the sound of the doorbell. “Oh, hi! Peter, right?” She smiled up at him. She noticed the bruise gracing his right cheekbone and her smile made way for concern. “Oh no, what happened?”

“I’d like to buy a helmet, please, Annie. I’m fine. I’ll just have a headache for the foreseeable future.” Muxx smiled at her and tried to look like it didn’t hurt like hell. She looked cute, being worried and all, but he didn’t want to upset her.

“Have you been to the ER? You could have a concussion. Please get yourself checked out.” She frowned, inspecting the bruise on his face.

“I will, just as soon as I buy this helmet. I promise.” He walked out with a spring in his step that wasn’t there when he entered the store.


After three weeks of riding his bike around town, Muxx began to actually enjoy it. His butt no longer felt like a permanent bruise. He had managed to keep himself from pissing off Goddess for at least two weeks now, so he must be doing something right.

The sun was out, birds were singing, and he wanted to listen to the whispers of the trees. Careful, Muxx, you’re getting soft. Next thing you know, you’ll be feeding the ducks.

Dry spell 3.jpg
Image credit: LuckyLife11 via Pixabay

The pond appeared from behind a bend. By the water, feeding the ducks, was Annie. Muxx couldn’t help a goofy smile as he rode up to her. “Hey Annie. How are you?”

She turned and smiled. She was wearing a flowery, floating sort of dress that showed off more of her mysterious tattoo, but he was so busy staring at her smile that he never saw what it was. “I’m good, thanks. Enjoying the first warm day of the year. You?”

Please smile again. “Oh, you know. Pretty much the same. Enjoying some offroad time for a change.”

She giggled. “You call this offroading?” She laughed full out this time, her head back, hair swinging.

Muxx noticed the water line of the pond receding. Was the damn dry spell absorbing that too? He stood back, made himself stop staring and cleared his throat. “Well, I better let you get back to it. See you later, Annie.”

She waved to him as he turned his bike away from the pond. He couldn’t stop looking over his shoulder at her in her sunshine-and-flowers dress.

“Hey! Watch it, buddy.” A man jumped out of the way as Muxx rode through the park, lost in thoughts of Annie.


“Ding, ding,” Annie looked up at the door as Muxx limped into the store. “Oh, no. What happened, Peter?”

“Hey, Annie, nothing happened. I went for some ‘real offroading.’ It was kind of fun. But I’d like to buy some knee and elbow pads, please. And a pair of gloves.”

Muxx’s face warmed at Annie’s giggle and his eyes locked onto hers. She blushed and quickly turned to the shelf behind her. She really was adorable. “Let’s see. Knee pads, elbows… These should fit you. You’ll need to try the gloves on though, to get the size right.” She turned back and put some items on the counter for him to look at.

He noticed her cheeky grin before looking down at the counter where she’d placed hot pink gloves for him to try out. He burst out laughing. “Well, at least I’m no longer feeling sorry for myself. Thanks for that at least.” He wiped a tear from his face, trying to remember when he’d last laughed like this. “Do you have any in black or grey, though?”

Sunlight flooded the store.


Muxx rode his bike over to Bex’s again. “You’ve got this, man. Just ask her.” The store was open, luckily. Thunder rumbled again, and Muxx rolled his eyes.

She looked up as he walked in, pushing her glasses up again. Her hair was piled on top of her head in one of those messy hairdos. She wore denim overalls and a plaid shirt. Her nails looked just like nails. No pink claws or lipstick. It wouldn’t suit her. The feather was still there, just visible enough to pique his curiosity. “Oh, hi, Peter. Is everything all right with your bike? Do you need help with something?”

“No uhm, my bike is fine. I was just riding past and I was thinking… Do you want to go and have coffee some time?”

No drinks! Dry spell, remember?

Thunder rumbled again.

“Or we could do something more fun. We could do something more interesting than coffee.”

She looked up at him with those big brown eyes and he fell silent. Please say yes. A smile slowly lit up her face, and she nodded. “You’ve already rediscovered bikes. Let’s do something else you haven’t done in ages. If you can surprise me, you’re on.”

“Meet me here the day after tomorrow at 9? Wear something comfortable.”


“So where are we going, Peter?” Annie looked at him as they rode their bikes away from Bex’s.

“We’ll be there in a minute.” He smiled at her. “Curious?”

“Me? No, never. I’m not curious. I just like to know stuff.” She winked at him.

“OK, we’re here.”

She looked up at the sign over the gate. “The zoo? I haven’t been to one in ages. Surprise? Check.” She smiled at him, a big, toothy, delighted smile, and his knees went weak.

The sun suddenly burst through the clouds. Muxx looked up and winked.


“Thank you, Peter. I haven’t had this much fun in ages. It’s been great.” Her smile warmed him, calming his nerves as they walked back to their bikes.

“Annie, I uhm, I had a lot of fun too.” He returned her smile and felt almost shy. She was sweet and adorable, and he wanted to see her again, just be with her. He needed her to feel the same. He shivered. Was it out of fear? Or was it hope?

Clouds were beginning to roll in, hiding the sun.

“Well, are you going to kiss me, anytime today?”

Peter Muxton sighed happily, smiled down at her, and did as he was told. The first drops of rain landed on his head and shoulders.

Dry spell 4.jpg
Image credit: Pexels via Pixabay


This is where Peter Muxton and I will go our separate ways. I must say I very much enjoyed writing about him, and I will definitely miss his antics.

Huge kudos to the members of the MSP PALnet Fiction Workshop for all their help, support, encouragement and the warm home I've found there. It's cosier than hot chocolate. Love you guys to bits!

Big big hugs!

Sort:  

Sunlight flooded the store.

Love this line. Awesome story. I'm glad the rain fell finally.

Thank you Andrew. :-)

A nice conclusion to a humorous tale! Awesome!

We shall miss you, Peter.

I kind of miss him too. Am thinking of resurrecting him in the some time future. ;-)

Yes, do it! :D

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I failed to comment when you posted these. You did a wonderful job editing and developing this story and I hope you are really proud of how it turned out. I am so happy you found the courage to join us in the workshop. You're a wonderful addition to the family.

Oh my Goddess, Bex. You'll make me blush. I couldn't have done this without the help of the beloved fictioneers, and without everything I learned from the other stories you all helped me write. I'm very proud of how it turned out. Thank you for believing in it. And I'm glad I found you guys. hug

Awesome, Muxx wins the girl and All is well once more with Goddess.

Well. I can't guarantee she'll never stick her noise in human affairs again...

Yay! The rain is falling again. 😃

Of course. I couldn't leave Muxx without a Happy ending. 😁

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tinypaleokitchen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Good picture

Thanks. Which one did you mean?

I so enjoyed this! You have a talent for perfect one-liners and you strew them about in your work so much - I just love it!

Why, thank you. I owe a lot to the wonderful edits of the amazing Fictioneers, though. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73