You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peaches and Dream: Original Short Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago

Reminds me a bit of "Make Room! Make Room!" by Harry Harrison. Captured the moment of absolute joy at what had been normal. Contrast at the end seals it. Good read.

Sort:  

I read that one, actually. I hated it. And then I went and wrote something like it.

I'm not an environmentalist. I am, however, a conservationist, and a gardener. And I think humans are being quite stupid about the planet, in many ways.

I didn't mean it was exactly like it, just the broad strokes of a decimated planet and the last few luxuries being things we take for granted now.

I am curious though, what about Harrison's story did you not like? Too dystopian?

Too bleak, I think. It's been a few years. I reject that this is where we have to go as a species. I actually think things are getting better, and we as a people have bright days ahead. Different days, surely. But bright.

I have a fascination with dystopian predictions.

Not because I think they will come true. In my experience extremes are not visited for very long, things tend to moderate over time. Generally I'm optimistic about future events, even if we take a few dives to get there.

I actually don't like dystopian fiction all that much. It seems to me that dystopian requires preaching, and that bugs me. I still read it sometimes--1984, Brave New World, even The Giver (though I've never been impressed)--but of the modern stuff, only Hunger Games has even been mildly interesting. But post-apoc? Oh, that stuff gets me every time. I love a good apocalypse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89