The True Rebellion (Awake, Part 4)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Eight.

We found eight people like us. Eight former test subjects. Some of them have been living in this city for decades but still look as young as they did when they were ripped from their dull lives. The genetically engineered anti-aging mechanisms are truly amazing.

Most of them had tried to avoid me, but together with Damon, we had been able to convince them to join us. Join us for our last fight and create a real rebellion. A rebellion led by the victims, not by bored oppressors. But we need more people, eight isn't enough.

That’s why I’m now crouched down next to a dumpster on a rainy afternoon with a syringe in my hand. And I’m waiting.

Footsteps approach. Their regular rhythm shows no hurry. This person knows exactly that they will be where they are supposed to be when they are supposed to be. I miss this certainty, I really do. Nowadays, nothing is certain anymore.

I wait some more until the person walks past me. It’s a man which makes me hesitate. If something goes wrong, he will easily overpower me. My gaze wanders to the syringe in my hand. The blue liquid inside of it reminds me of the sky. Of freedom. Freedom I’m going to give this man. @suesa

I stand up, step away from the dumpster and lunge at the man, burying the needle in what I hope is a vein in his leg and press the liquid into it. I’m met with resistance. It’s not a vein which means the drug will take a bit longer to work. Fuck.

”What do you think you’re doing?” The man screams. Great, the emotions are back but the anesthetic didn’t kick in yet. Fuck!

”Please, you will understand all of this very soon”, I say and step back a few meters in case he wants to attack me. But the main feeling that’s emerging in him seems to be confusion and fear.

”What is this?” He asks. ”This weird sensation, I haven’t had this. I think I need to see a doctor.” His eyes stop at the syringe in my hand. ”Are you a doctor? Did you give me something? But why didn’t you just tell me to wait? Why did you …”

The anesthetic doesn’t give him a chance to finish his question as he falls over like a bag of potatoes. I manage to catch him before he meets the ground face first. I groan because he is so heavy, then I carefully drag him back to the dumpster. I open it and with a lot of shoving and cursing manage to get him inside.

A soft thump indicates that he safely landed on the mattresses I had placed in there. I close the lid again and pull a phone out of my pocket. I dial a number and the call immediately connects.

”I got mine. How are the others doing?”

”All five got one. We’re good to go”, answers Damon on the other side. ”I’ll be there in 15 minutes.”

The 15 minutes feel longer than they probably are. The rain somehow manages to soak through to my skin despite my rain jacket. I’m shivering. No more missions in the rain, ever again. I need to make this a rule.

A garbage truck drives around the corner and slows down next to the dumpster. The door opens, and Damon gets out. Together we lift the unconscious man out of the dumpster and into the back of the truck. Four other people are already lying in there.

”So I’m the last?” I ask.

”Yes, I assumed you might want to drive home with me.”

”You could have picked me up earlier, even with that assumption.” I’m a little bit pissed.

”I’m sorry, I didn’t think …”

”Exactly. You didn’t think.” I walk past him and to the passenger’s side of the truck. While getting in, I already feel bad for snapping at Damon. It’s not exactly his fault the weather wants to drown everybody on this miserable planet.

We drive towards the city gates. No guards are stationed here, everything works electronically. We were amazed when we found out. It is a lot easier to hack into the security system than it would have been to avoid guards. I’m not sure if we would have been able to bribe them. Maybe it would have ended in unnecessary bloodshed.

The sensor at the gates registers the signal our garbage truck is sending out and opens without any issue. Just as it had done for weeks. And just like the past few weeks, we manage to drive back to our hideout without being interrupted.

”So, what did you bring us today?” Esther curiously peaks into the darkness of the garbage truck.

”Three men, two women”, Damon informs her. ”Nobody reported any problems, nobody has been caught. I’d say it’s been a successful day!”

He turns to me and grins proudly. The freckles on his face seem to become a bit more intense in color. I roll my eyes. The way he’s constantly trying to get my approval is tiring.

I join Esther and peek through the gap into the darkness. Someone hands me a flashlight and I use it to get a better look at our catch. One face makes my breath stop.

Lucifer.



Picture taken from pixabay.com



Today’s Suesa’s favorite is: @lemouth
I don’t like physics but lemouth, particle physicist and co-founder of steemSTEM manages it time and time again to write a post that is interesting and informational for the average person. Don’t believe me? Read about cosmic archeology with gravitational waves or the search for a fifth force (additionally to the strong force, weak force, electromagnetism and gravity … but seriously, look at it yourself!). Some of his articles are in French, so if you have a friend who doesn’t speak English but French, you now have something to show to them!


Update on the mentor program: @booster916 didn't react on steemit.chat, so the next in line @arrjey , will be the mentee this week.


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

If you notice, I have not been reading the stories until they are two. So, I can read from one to the other to reduce the suspense. Nice work!
Off to see what happened after sighting lucifer...

Ooh this is gonna be great! Wait no, it won't be great, because all the stories end in death, after all. And she won't be smart enough to stab Lucifer in the face.

Or she might. I'll never lose the faith in good endings.

Thanks for the advertisement ^^ You are part of my favorites too! ;)

”Are you a doctor? Did you give me something? But why didn’t you just tell me to wait? Why did you …”

Given the trusting nature of the emotionally muted citizens I am curious if anyone has tried just walking up to them and social engineering them to allow an injection. I suppose it's faster to just jab them with a needle.

The way he’s constantly trying to get my approval is tiring.

This sounds to me like it could be a very dangerous thing.

One face makes my breath stop.
Lucifer.

Oh, very nice!

But stabbing them with a needle instead of asking is so much more dramatic!

I am on the edge.

The former hunter becomes the hunted.

Whats next I wonder?

The revolution is underway, I like the buildup. Now let's hope they won't get caught or something spiral out of control. What am I even saying? Spiraling out of control or getting caught would even make for a sit-on-the-edge effect :)

This story is just too thrilling! Can't wait for the next part!
Your writing and your ideas are definitely better then in some books I've read :D

oooooo Blast from the past eh! Is it payback time I wonder? This will be good! :D

Thank you very much, I'm glad you like the post.

Which post did I like? Your comment doesn't make sense.

That's a good story :) @suesa 👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45