Prisoner (Perfect Humans, Part 4)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

My whole body hurts when I wake up, especially my face. As I lift my fingers and carefully touch my nose, I notice that it’s clearly broken and still covered in dried blood. I must be a wonderful sight to look at.

I look around. Grey stone walls, an iron door with a tiny hole in it through which some light enters my cell. No window, no bed, nothing to make my small cell any friendlier. Then again, there wouldn’t have been much room for any furniture. I can barely lay down on the floor without touching a wall.

Slowly to not increase the burning pain in my limbs, I stand up and take a look through the window in the door. Another wall, just as gray and boring as the ones that form my cell. Great.

”Hello?”, I call out. ”Is anyone there? Can somebody hear me?”

”Yeah. You didn’t expect to be alone around here, did you?” The voice seems to come from a woman and she’s close. The cell next to mine? Is there a cell next to mine?

”What’s going on here?” I ask.

”You’re in prison, genius.” Another voice, male this time. ”You should know why you’re here. Or are you innocent?” He laughs. That was clearly a joke.

”No, I’m not”, I answer anyway. ”So, what kind of prison is this? Are they going to conduct medical tests on us?”

”Are you dumb?” The woman again. ”We aren’t suitable for medical testing, too many genetic differences. Why do you think they used mice back when animal testing was still allowed? No, nowadays the computer simulations are good enough to erase the need for any actual tests on living beings.”

”Don’t be so hard on her”, the man chimes in. ”She probably only knows the conspiracy theories. You can’t really blame her for that, I bet she’s a secondary and doesn’t have a very high education.”

”Excuse me?!” I feel a little bit attacked.

”Hey, it’s just the truth, honey”, the man says. ”You secondaries aren’t given the best education to keep you silenced.”

”So you’re what, a primary?”

”Exactly. We commit crimes too, you know.”

I’m baffled. ”Why should a primary ever commit a crime? You’re given everything you want!”

”But it is soooooo booooring. Do you know how exciting a bank robbery can be? I robbed at least four banks before they caught me!” The man sounds proud but I can only shake my head. I can’t believe it. Those who already have everything commit crimes just because they are bored? Then again, that sounds rather typical.

”But aren’t primaries put in a special prison?” I ask instead of continuing this frustrating conversation. ”Why am I here?”

”This is a special prison for primaries and high profile crimes”, the woman explained. ”What did you do, girl?”

”I’m a part of the resistance”, I say.

”Not high profile enough. They wouldn’t put you in here for that.”

I’m about to tell her about our heist when I hear someone come down the corridor. A guard? I try to see more of the outside of the cell, but the window is too tiny to get a good look at anything. Until the guard stops in front of my door and looks me right in the face.

”Prisoner, step back from the door, face the wall and place your hands on your back”, he commands. As I don’t want any more pain inflicted on my battered body, I follow his words. As soon as I’m in position, he unlocks the door, walks in and handcuffs me.

”You’re being taken in for questioning. Any useful information can lessen your sentence, but if you resist, your sentence will be death.”

Right to the point this guy. For his girlfriend, I really hope that he takes a bit more time for foreplay in bed.

The guard drags me along the corridor past several cell doors similar to mine. Finally, we reach a shiny white door with a sign attached to it.

Interrogation Room it says. How nice, at least they label everything.

The guard knocks on the door, then opens it. The whole room is painted in an eye watering white that seems to glow and even the desk and two chairs are white. From the ceiling hangs a bright light. After the darkness of the cell, it really hurts my brain.

On one of the chairs sits a woman. She’s wearing sunglasses, probably to shield herself from the unpleasant effects of the room. Interesting way to wear someone down, I must say.

The guard pushes me down on the empty chair and immediately leaves the room. For a few minutes, there is silence, which makes the whole situation almost unbearable.

”Where are the embryos”, the woman finally asks. I’m kind of relieved, I had wondered if Alexander had gotten away. But if that’s the first question the woman asks me, they probably didn’t catch him.

”I don’t know”, I answer. Truthfully. Someone else is supposed to handle the redistribution of the embryos.

”Where does the resistance hide.”

”They don’t hide.” Let’s see how long I can avoid lying.

”Tell me the name of the one who stole the embryos.”

”Alexander.”

”Last name?”

”No clue. I even doubt that Alexander is his real first name.”

To my surprise, the woman smiles.

”Did you get everything?” She asks seemingly nobody.

Suddenly, the room turns from white to gray, as if the walls had been illuminated.

”Yes, we got her brain responses to your questions. We can now locate where they usually meet up and who has the embryos now. They plan to distribute them to lower class families.”

”Thank you for your cooperation”, the woman says with an even wider smile. ”You’ll be taken back to your cell, in case we need you again.”

The way back to my prison feels eternal. They had scanned my brain? I didn’t know that was possible but it seems that the whole room was specifically built for that. Now I could only hope that Alexander had been smart enough to change the plans after I got caught.


References:

Why Do Medical Researchers Use Mice?

Brain decoding: Reading minds


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
Check out @steemstem and the #steemSTEM channel in steemit.chat and consider following the curation trail on Streemian to support scientists on steemit!
Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

You should definitely start to write a whole novel to throw it out on the market.
Your writing is so vivid and includes some simply awesome lines to laugh about, like... "Right to the point this guy. For his girlfriend, I really hope that he takes a bit more time for foreplay in bed." 😄😂

I love it!

This is not good at doing because let alone have to steal imbrio. And what may be this embryo that is stolen for the needs of the crowd or just a handful of people. A very interesting story I keep reading and living this story. Thank you for sharing for all of us.

I thought I knew where this is going but no.

Well done once again.

very interesting
This story shows great work and shows tremendous sacrifice.
Full of risk even lie even in order to achieve the goals and goals in want.
When the job was successful. Then high-risk errors can be forgotten.
thank you @suesa
Posting is helpful especially for health in the process of combining genes.

I finally had a chance to catch up on this story and I am really enjoying it. It has the different aspects of science mixed into a heist mixed into sci-fi. Kudos on being able to come up with consistently interesting stories and write them on a tight deadline. As usual love the format and story length it makes for a comfortable read!

I am rooting for a healthy keiko to show up and spring them :)

Getting more interesting, upped.

It is very sad when we sit in the cell, because everything is so empty, what we want can not be achieved again, we can only surrender to this situation, because the law has set us into the cell.
For that we need to think again before making things that can plunge us into negative things, because regret must come too late.
@suesa

What are you even talking about

Before I apologize, I said about the pain of living in prison, because we can not see anything else, can only see the cell wall only, life is very sad in the cell.
@suesa

But that has basically nothing to do with the post you commented on

I'm sorry, maybe I just misunderstood your post @suesa

good work
You have successfully performed several stages of gene pooling. It's a tough and challenging job.
@suesa I think you're a professional doctor.
Thank you for sharing knowledge

What are you even talking about

I love prison stories let me grab my coffee and read this !

Very exciting and exciting, from yesterday's story entering the lab to take the embryo unnoticed by the guards, was finally caught and trapped in a cell prison for introgration. Investigate who you are and what the purpose of taking the imbrio. Maybe you're a genius, thank you for sharing me waiting in the next episode, @suesa

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64